Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

How does video upsampling work?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by crawf1982, May 2, 2003.

  1. crawf1982

    crawf1982
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I am planning to get a Denon 3803 and was just wondering how the video upsampling feature of the unit works.

    If you input a composite/s-video signal can the unit output a pure component signal or is it some sort of pseudo/pretend component signal?

    Thanks for any help/info!

    Dave
     
  2. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    I don't know how it's done, but I can say that it doesn't change the quality at all. I own a Pioneer VSA-AX10 with the feature, and all it really does is allow you to use the one component connection to the monitor. If the original signal was composite for example, then there's still lots of dot crawl. It's useful, but it definitely doesn't upgrade the signal.
     
  3. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice