1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How does it know.......?

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by markster, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. markster

    markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Possibly a stupid question, but if a DVD has both DTS and DD, which sound format does the DVD player choose to use?
     
  2. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    its the disc that chooses not the player. Same as chapter branching etc.

    by default most discs will select DD and its up to the viewer to switch it to DTS
     
  3. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    actually, can anyone mention a disc which defaults to dts? Ive never seen one.....

    ad
     
  4. markster

    markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh right ........ I'm using a Philips PW9617 with an inbuilt DD decoder - so defaulting to DD is good for me! Only problem is, I'll be wondering now if I am missing out not hearing it in DTS! DOH!
     
  5. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    listen to both then and decide! :D

    ad
     
  6. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Then switch to dts then. All you have to do is to go into languages and change it.
     
  7. markster

    markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    But I got the impression that as my TV has DD only, it wont be able to do DTS? Is this correct. I would have to get a new amp/receiver to hear DTS... (you can tell I'm a newbie at this game) :)
     
  8. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Sorry didnt realise, if your amp cant decode DTS then you cant listen to it.
     
  9. markster

    markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh dear ... so now I'm left wondering what I'm missing - oh well!
     
  10. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Don't worry about it. If you're using your TV as the decoder, you wouldn't notice any difference between the two.
     
  11. markster

    markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol - thanks.

    Although I suspect that's code for 'your TV decoder is not that good quality and therefore it wont make any difference!'

    hmmm - I think a new amp should be on the shopping list!
     
  12. Jayb

    Jayb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Markster are you using the speakers built into the TV?
     
  13. markster

    markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The plan was to use the internal speakers, although I have some rather nice mission 771's which I may hook up through my arcam 7 amp for the left and right channels. Worth doing? I actually think (Delvery of TV is in a couple of days time) that the inbuilt sub-woover may be the weakest link.
     
  14. Jayb

    Jayb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am no expert and pretty new to this myself, but I think you need at least a 5.1 set up to take advantage of DTS, 2 rear, left and right fronts, centre for speech and a sub.

    Also you would need that set up for DD 5.1

    The difference between a 5.1 set up and just using the tv's speakers I'm sure would be vast, it is with my set up....:)
     
  15. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    TV speakers....Yuk.

    If you can use the Arcam & missions from the L/R preouts and set the centre channel off (still using rear TV speakers) you should get pretty decent results.
     
  16. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +135
    To answer your original question - Don't rely on the disc to choose which track. Some default to DD 2.0, and you wouldn't want that!
     
  17. markster

    markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doesn't the DD rely on the fact that you have a centre speak/channel for the dialogue? If I turn it off on the TV would I not miss quite a bit?
     
  18. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've never come across a disc that defaulted to 2.0 if there was a 5.1 soundtrack.

    Why would they want to do that?
     
  19. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Godzilla R2 came bundled with my first dvd player - that defaulted to 2.0 rather than 5.1
     
  20. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
  21. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    So did dog soldiers when i played it the other day.
     
  22. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +135
    Alien and Fight Club also. Apparently if you only have DPL, 2.0 sounds better. I tried it and thought the downmix was the better track.
     
  23. FoxyMulder

    FoxyMulder
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A disc which defaults to DTS, i have 2 Cutthroat Island DTS Japanese version and Tomb Raider also Japanese version.
     
  24. zantarous

    zantarous
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    All the Superbit discs I have defaul to DTS
     
  25. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    My DVD player defaults to DTS if the track is available. :)
     
  26. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +135
    None of the Superbit discs I have default to DTS.

    Maybe it's a player thing.
     
  27. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,017
    I thought it was against DVD forum specs to default to DTS. DD compatibility is part of the minimum standard, and all players can play this / downsample to stereo for TVs.

    But not all DVD players support DTS, and not all TVs/processors will decode it. So you have to select DTS yourself, and the DVD normally warns you before you confirm.

    Maybe this is different with an all in one system supporting DTS, I'm not sure?
     
  28. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,755
    My Panasonic TV has onboard DD and DTS and I can definately tell the difference, especially now I'm using the Pioneer 565.
     
  29. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    Japanese R2 Superbits default to DTS, certainly the Jurrasic Park trilogy does.
     

Share This Page

Loading...