How do you wire 3 tv screens to a playstation?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by V1Paul, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. V1Paul

    V1Paul
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you wire 3 tv screens to a playstation... do you need 3 playstations and 3 of the same game?
     
  2. Workshed

    Workshed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Radstock, Bath
    Ratings:
    +146
    I didn't know you could! Where have you seen someone do it?
     
  3. xcross

    xcross
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    If you're thinking of like the Gran Turismo 5 way etc, they use PS3s linked in a network. However the original prototype of the ps3 did have multiple HDMIs.
     
  4. T800

    T800
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +154
    Get two cheap HDMI splitters and daisy chain them together.

    or

    Get 6 phono splitters and again daisy chain them to three TV's (for Composite), a bit rough but it should do the job.
     
  5. Workshed

    Workshed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Radstock, Bath
    Ratings:
    +146
    Does Gran Turismo 5 even support it?
     
  6. xcross

    xcross
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Don't quote me on it but I think all the hardcore simracers are pretty certain that it will so they can run 3 monitors in their racing setups
     
  7. T800

    T800
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +154
    Three separate screens from one PS3 using just the GT5 disc?

    IMO not possible, if the PS3 had three HDMI outputs yes it would be. The PS3 would have to send three separate video signals from it's HDMI 1.3 spec connection and the TV's decide which signal they need.:suicide:
     
  8. Workshed

    Workshed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Radstock, Bath
    Ratings:
    +146
    I know the 360 can do it with one or both Forza games if you have 3 copies of Forza and 3 Xbox 360s but i've not heard of any PS3 games being able to do it...

    There was that demo Sony/Polyphony did where they ran GT5P in some ridiculous resolution on a massive TV using several PS3s but i don't think that was actually included in the consumer version of the game.
     
  9. xcross

    xcross
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    No, I know this, but there is a rumour that GT5 will be able to run 3 monitors from 3 ps3s linked in a LAN, but this also requires 3 copies of the game! Thats why it's only for the true hardcore :eek:
    The PS2 could do this with GT4, but only in arcade mode.

    And Sony have run GT5p on 4 ps3s to create an image 4x the resolution of 'standard HD'

    Gran Turismo 5 (GT5) in 4 times the resolution of Full HD - PS3 Daily

    If only I had a bit of cash....:D
     
  10. Zeromajor

    Zeromajor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Btown
    Ratings:
    +594
    This is not currently possible for any game on the ps3, and will not possible using just one machine if it's ever supported by Gran Turismo 5 (techically impossible on the hardware for 1 PS3 to render 3 displays at once).

    The suggestion for a hdmi splitter is also wrong, that will do nothing but give you 3 of the same images, with almost certain lag.
     
  11. Digital Tench

    Digital Tench
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +906
  12. Workshed

    Workshed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Radstock, Bath
    Ratings:
    +146
    That is real, its not in the consumer version of GT5P as it was more of a tech demo but it did happen.
     
  13. Happy Gamer

    Happy Gamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +19

    Hey how did you get that avatar?
     
  14. xcross

    xcross
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    If you click the 'Get a portable ID link' on it, you can set up your own using your PSN account. When you are done and have saved it, go into your control panel on AVF and click 'Edit your details' Right at the bottom of this page is a box to enter your PSN ID, which will cause the PSN avatar you set up to appear when you post in the PS3 forums.

    :thumbsup:
     
  15. Happy Gamer

    Happy Gamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +19
    Thanks mate, you helped me out a lot i would of never figured it out cheers! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice