1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you turn on DTS in Mummy Ultimate Edition?

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by Sun, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. Sun

    Sun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stowmarket, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +32
    I was having a fiddle last night, as you do, and I stuck The Mummy & The Mummy Returns Ultimate Edition on and could only play in DD5.1 and not DTS, both films have DTS and my amp and DVD player are capable as well so I don't know why it wasn't working. I tried Gangs of New York and it played in DTS when I selected it in the menu and Blade 2 played in DTS ES 6.1 when I selected that as well.

    So where is the setting for turning DTS on in the Mummy? It's region 2 I believe.

    Infact on a similar note where is the DD5.1 setting in 24: Season 1? I had similar problems with that before as well.

    Cheers
    Sun
     
  2. davidjohnson

    davidjohnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +144
    I am not certain, but I believe the region 2, series 1 of 24 only has DPL.

    I have the region 2 Mummy 4 disc Ultimate set myself and I am sure I was able to play the Mummy in DTS. I will check and let you know.
     
  3. Sun

    Sun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stowmarket, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +32
    thanks davidjohnson, that would be great, the packaging definitely says DTS on it, so unless Amazon have sold me packaging from one region and discs from another then it must be right surely?!
     
  4. davidjohnson

    davidjohnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +144
    Hello

    I have just checked both films and they both play DTS.

    I pressed menu, then toggled down to languages, selected DTS, then confirmed my equipment is able to play DTS (I hate it when a DVD asks you that). It then played the DTS intro (the piano thing) then the films started with DTS sound.
     
  5. Sun

    Sun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stowmarket, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +32
    They have the DTS setting in languages? :suicide:

    Right thanks for that david I'll check it when I'm home tonight.

    Cheers
    Sun
     
  6. Mics49

    Mics49
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    945
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    Aeh... Where else do you usually find them (if not in "set-up" => "soundtrack" or => "languages")? :rolleyes: ;)
     
  7. Sun

    Sun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stowmarket, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +32
    Well mr clever cloggs, I've never seen one in Languages before so never checked in there, it seems a bit stupid to me, "do you speak DTS?". Setup or features I can understand but otherwise it's just silly.

    I found why 24 Season 1 is only playing in Neo Cinema as well, it's only a DD2.0 DVD, tsk. Although Neo6 is doing a fine job at 5.1.
     

Share This Page

Loading...