How do you set up a US account?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by AdamC, May 4, 2007.

  1. AdamC

    AdamC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im getting a bit fed up with the lack of change to the UK store so i thought id have a look on the US one - but ive got no idea how to setup a US account.

    What do i need to do?

    Thanks

    Adam
     
  2. M1keF

    M1keF
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +70
    A valid US Zip code is needed. I used 90210 and just put random garbage for the rest. I did you a valid email address though (one I no longer use)

    Its quite straight forwarded to do
     
  3. Naqv

    Naqv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,645
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +355
    "90210" lol nice one.
     
  4. HDPete

    HDPete
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ringwood, Hampshire / Dorset Border
    Ratings:
    +14
    What do you have to do to switch from the UK sign up. Where do I go in the XMB to undo the UK and switch to US?

    Cheers,
    Pete
     
  5. Naqv

    Naqv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,645
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +355
    It's the first main option from the left. Just change account.
     
  6. jonboy99

    jonboy99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone successfully added a credit card to their US account? It won't let me register one that doesn't have a US address :mad:
     
  7. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    Use mastercard - they don't check the address.
     
  8. jonboy99

    jonboy99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried that last night with an egg mastercard - it said it wasn't a valid card when I had to choose an american state as part of the address. Have you done this? What did you put for the address?
     
  9. SteveG

    SteveG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +92
    I put a hotel in Las Vegas. Did you leave the address as your default PSN registered one when adding your Mastercard? If you try to change any of it, it will get rejected, so don't even try to put your real address. Try this:

    Bellagio
    3600 S. Las Vegas Blvd.
    Las Vegas, NV 89109
     
  10. jonboy99

    jonboy99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woohoo! I just left the card address as the address (all american) I made up to create the accout with - it worked!
    Thanks for the help! :thumbsup:
     
  11. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    Surely we need a sticky on this given how many times it gets asked?
     
  12. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    It should really be part of the PS3 FAQ. Then again how many times do people actually check the FAQ before starting a new thread about something that not only has been covered a thousand times but is also in the FAQ.
     
  13. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    True, but it should be in the FAQ for completeness' sake. At least mods can then just close threads and refer them to the FAQ for similar threads.
     
  14. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    That's true. I do agree with that. I guess I was just making an observation on how a lot of the time people seem to be too lazy to check the FAQ or do a search first. I don't accept the excuse that they did a search and didn't come up with anything. The search function here is pretty good and it has never let me down.
     
  15. BD Ashby

    BD Ashby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Burton on trent
    Ratings:
    +54
    Do you need use a mastercard do get a US account ? Ive only got a Visa , What happens when they ask if my card is regersed to my "US address" ? How do you get around this?
     
  16. Del Boy Smiffy

    Del Boy Smiffy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    6,531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +418
    Cool, set up my account, took all of 10mins. :)

    They have more stuff there but the way people talk about the US store over ours i was expecting a lot more, they have had it for a good few months longer than us, i think this week our UK store will get better after the work on it.
     
  17. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    You don't need a credit card to setup the account only if you want to buy premium content. If you want to do that then you will need a mastercard. Visa doesn't work anymore. The address is not an issue as you have to add funds in small increments of $5-10. If you do that it does not verify the address.
     
  18. kalel795

    kalel795
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +38

Share This Page

Loading...