How do you listen to music?

Ice Rich

Standard Member
Hello,

Im very new to the hi-fi scene but have recently put an order in for the Acoustic Energy Aego M 2.1 Speakers - should be here monday ;)

Im currently using a pair of multimedia speakers I bought for 10quid about 5 years ago so im expecting a nice upgrade in sound.

I would like some adivce on the best way to get a high quality sound from my set-up but am a little clueless.

What music file-type do you use? Is it best not to use MP3 atall due to it being compressed?

Thanks for any advice,
Rich

deaf cat

Hiya Ice,

What kit have you got?

Good idea to use lossless files if your using a pc based system, if you notice a difference of course.

Knyght_byte

Distinguished Member
with those speakers, anything from 192kpbs or above you shouldnt notice too much difference tbh......just use whatever you like......

128kpbs you might notice it doesnt sound quite so good and anything lower should be obviously compressed......

i've heard good things about those speakers for the money, should make things enjoyable ;-)

Ice Rich

Standard Member
Thanks for replys,

Im not heavily into the AV scene im just after a nice set-up I can chill to music to.

Like I said at the moment I have a really old 10quid set-up (2 speakers) that sound awful. What kind of upgrade will I likely see?

Also does it matter how I set it up? does the SUB need to be placed anywhere in paticular?

Thanks

Rich

Knyght_byte

Distinguished Member
it should be a very good improvement over the previous things i'd imagine, it wont be hifi quality, but it'll still have decent dynamics and power for the size......

can i ask how much u paid for them btw?