How do you format an entire computer?

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by Captain Ted, Dec 26, 2006.

  1. Captain Ted

    Captain Ted
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    My computer is now running like a big bag of smelly poo!

    How do I wipe absolutely everything and re-install the operating programmes?

    I am on XP home and have all the discs legally.

    I have saved all essential documents on disc so It is all ready to be blasted.

    Please help!

    Ted.
     
  2. andrew1810

    andrew1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +55
    Put the XP cd in the drive, reboot the computer and when prompted, press a key to boot from the CD

    Follow the menus doing a fresh installation, not a repair one

    Delete all partitions, quick format the new unpartitioned space (NTFS) then install XP onto this
     
  3. Tommy Angelo

    Tommy Angelo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might have to go into BIOS, usually by pressing DEL on the boot screen and set it to boot from CD over the HDD.
     
  4. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    boot from xp cd, go into windows recovery console and type the following:

    format c: /fs:ntfs

    all done. you can add the /q to do a quick format, but I prefer the full format.

    format c: /q /fs:ntfs
     
  5. andrew1810

    andrew1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +55
    If the OP is re-installing XP, might as well use the graphical one rather than having to boot twice and run the installer twice
     
  6. Captain Ted

    Captain Ted
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    When you say boot from the cd, do you mean reset the computer with the cd in the machine?

    Ted.
     
  7. andrew1810

    andrew1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +55
    Yes, providing the BIOS is set to boot from CD (as said above), it will prompt you to press any key to boot from the CD, you want to press a key when it says this
     
  8. Captain Ted

    Captain Ted
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    Thanks for all this guys.

    As you can probably tell, I know very little about computers!

    What is BIOS and where do I find the boot screen?

    Cheers, Ted.
     
  9. unique

    unique
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,211
    when you first turn on the pc and you see some b/w text on the screen that tells you how much memory you have etc, it appears for a few seconds before the windows startup screen

    so when you turn on the pc, wait 1 second and then it's usually the "delete" key you press, sometimes it's "F8" or "F10" you press, the screen will usually say "Press F1 to enter setup" or something. when you press the right button (i usually just keep hitting it until the screen comes up) you should enter a menu on the motherboard that will let you change various settings, you want BOOT ORDER or something that will list your HD's and optical drives, change it so CDROM/DVD is first, then HD1/IDE1 etc. after you've reinstalled windows you might want to change the order back so if you leave a CDROM in the drive when you turn on the pc it doesn't try and boot from it

    BIOS is Basic Input Output System - it controlls how information flows on the pc, it's what people refer to when they are talking about the motherboards settings menu
     
  10. Steve.J.Davies

    Steve.J.Davies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +199
    You could just try booting with the Windaz CDd in the drive to see if your machine is already configured that way.
     
  11. Captain Ted

    Captain Ted
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    Thanks to all who replied. I will be trying this later today.

    If I ever get it running again, I will let you know how it went.

    Cheers again,
    Ted.
     
  12. Steve.J.Davies

    Steve.J.Davies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +199
    As long as the hardware ain't fried you will get it running again.
    Don't forget to get your anti-virus and firewall set up pretty quick - better yet before you connect it the 'net.
     
  13. Captain Ted

    Captain Ted
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    SUCCESS!!

    All done and no problems (as yet)

    Thanks again to all who replied. I bow to your superior knowlege.

    Ted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...