How do you connect your Squeezebox 3

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by NeilF, Sep 5, 2007.

?
  1. Digitally

    18 vote(s)
    46.2%
  2. Analog

    19 vote(s)
    48.7%
  3. Either, makes no difference...

    2 vote(s)
    5.1%
  1. NeilF

    NeilF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Marlow
    Ratings:
    +108
    Out of interest how do you connect your SBs to your amps?
     
  2. Autopilot

    Autopilot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Region 2
    Ratings:
    +1,516
    Analogue. The SB3's DAC is very good, it's more cost effective to get a decent amp and make use of the SB3's DAC IMO. I dont have money to burn, but even with the SB3's DAC, a good mid range amp/speakers and lossless files - it sounds better than many systems costing 5 times as much. If you have an external DAC, thats great. But with mid range kit it usually not worth it IMHO (many people who have forked out for expensive DAC will disagree though :)).
     
  3. StevieDvd

    StevieDvd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +151
    I have reasonable dacs with spare inputs so use them. Though I do connect the line out to the amp as well so the missus can use the system without touching the dac.

    She thinks a transistor radio sounds fine so no worries for her using the SB3 dac.
     
  4. NeilF

    NeilF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Marlow
    Ratings:
    +108
    Out of interest, one feature that would be very nice is a means of levelling the volume of different tracks. You know, some tracks/albums are far quieter/louder than others. It would be nice (in SlimServer?) if you could bias the volume of the tracks/albums (flac/mp3) up/down a bit.
     
  5. Autopilot

    Autopilot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Region 2
    Ratings:
    +1,516
    You can. It's called Replaygain.
     
  6. SteveAS

    SteveAS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Newbury
    Ratings:
    +13
    I recently bought a SB3 as I was originally going to purchase a 2nd hand CD player, but that meant more boxes in the rack, plus I would need a external DAC, so opted for the SB3.

    Mine's currently connected using optical cable to my amp which is a basic level amp - pioneer vsx2016.

    Am I better off by using the analogue output of the SB3 opposed to the optical output then? Or does it make no difference?
     
  7. Autopilot

    Autopilot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,629
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Region 2
    Ratings:
    +1,516
    The Brown Burr 24bit DAC of the SB3 is pretty good, in fact amazingly good for the price. Many CD players worth x3 as much dont sound as good. But it's all down to the rest of your kit really as to whats best.
     
  8. NeilF

    NeilF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Marlow
    Ratings:
    +108
    Plug it in with the stereo leads provided with it and flick between the digital and analog on your amp... Listen and see which you prefer... Exactly what I'll be doing :)
     
  9. Planet__

    Planet__
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    I was wondering how to connect (my soon to be purchased) SB3 to my amp, AX5i. I always favour coax digital over optical digital because there's less signal conversion; straight through electrical signal that coax gives rather than the electrical to light in the device, light back to electrical in the amp of the optical connection. In my head it makes sense....

    Like you Neil I'll try both the coax digital and the analog to see which best suits my ears. The dac of the SB3 or the AX5i, who shall win?!
     
  10. dalar

    dalar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +62
    Thats exactly what im gonna try out with my SB3 - right now im using optical, its sounds absolutley crystal clear.... but I miss the 'warmth' from analogue a bit.
     
  11. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    Two SB'3, both coaxial digital into av pre-amp (esp that as pre-amp converts A to D then does processing then D to A) other SB3 coaxial digital to a 2 channel DAC.
     
  12. AV Monkey

    AV Monkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    915
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    hampshire
    Ratings:
    +39
    Who won?
     
  13. NeilF

    NeilF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Marlow
    Ratings:
    +108
    I could hear no real difference, + with the optical connection I can play DTS audio from the SB3 :)
     
  14. nacmacfeegle

    nacmacfeegle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Auchenblae
    Ratings:
    +1,488
    I have 3, currently two are hooked up via analogue, and the other is hooked up to my AV recvr via digital coax.

    I couldn't really hear any difference on the AV amp (Yamaha 863) , both sound really very good compared to an Ipod via a dock (yamaha dock). I have yet to try out DTS via the SB3. I only have one disc that has a DTS track and I've not even ripped it yet.
     
  15. NeilF

    NeilF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Marlow
    Ratings:
    +108
    Generally I've found DTS audio albums a bit of a let down. For example, I had a DTS version of a Jean Michelle Jarre album and TBH I prefer the sound of the original. I suspect in all the re-mastering to make it 5.1 some of the original quality and 'feeling' was lost.

    Of all the DTS audio albums I've heard, the only one that I think has worked, and sounds better for being 5.1 is Jeff Waynes War of the Worlds :)

    note: Due to a bug/issue in the SB3, if you have crossfade on, it messes up DTS audio during the crossfade. They are aware of it, but for the time being I just have crossfade off. Doesn't bother me...
     
  16. Ali G

    Ali G
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have two babies -
    SB3 - optical into Arcam AVR350 - lovely sound
    Duet - analogue into Fatman Itube Carbon 2 - sounds almost as good
     

Share This Page

Loading...