1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do u guys control your HTPC's

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Bob Todd, Jan 4, 2005.

  1. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    I am about to setup a HTPC, I have ordered a new Kloss SFF barebones and a P4 3Gighertz to play high def stuff.

    I also want to play a little rome total war on it, is there any device out there that is cordless and does the job of a mouse and keyboard with needing a flat surface
     
  2. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I use a BTC rf keyboard which has a built in mouse, about £25 from CPC.

    For TT and dscaler I use a pronto with usb uirt and girder.
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,179
    Gyration wireles keyboard and "air" mouse. Mouse is great , keyboard is a little laggy.
     
  4. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I had the gyration and found that the keyboard struggled on the range that I needed, and the mouse needing charging everyday used to drive me mad.

    I bought the BTC keyboard before I sold the gyro so had the option of keeping either.
     
  5. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,376
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
    I use the media centre edition of the Gyration stuff. The keyboard with this has the 100ft range and the mouse is more a remote with mouse functionality rather than a plain mouse.

    The remote uses 4 AAA batteries (I use rechargable ones) and they seem to last ages.

    Although it is designed for Windows MCE a lot of the functions work fine in normal XP and you can map most buttons in girder.

    It is very good, but also very expensive and last time I checked not widely available in the UK. But I haven't checked recently, so price and availability may be better.

    I might be rethinking my approach to HTPC, so there is a chance it could appear on a classified near here sometime soon.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  6. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    cpc?
     
  7. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,179
    Never had any problems with the gyration mouse to be honest. I keep the cradle plugged in 24/7 and I've use di twithout reacharge for hours at a time. I can even play FPS on the big screen with it ( although I wouldn't go up against real flesh with it and my arm gets sore after a while ...not to mention the funny looks I get when my wife passes by and I'm prancing around like Bodie and Doyle )

    The keyboard is too slow for me though and regularly misses my keystrokes . You can tell when I'm using it on these forums as my dropped letter count takes a sharp increase.

    The newer version with the improved transmitter is supposed to be a lot better , I've got the older model though. What one did you have John?
     
  8. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
  9. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    is the gyro movement as good as a mouse?
     
  10. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Keith, mine was about a year old now. I just found it a little cumbersome, for me the all in one solution of a little joystick mouse on the edge of the keyboard just seems more convenient than 2 seperate items.
     
  11. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
  12. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    If you pm me an email address I can send you a couple of photos.
     
  13. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,376
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
    IMO, Yes, it works great but does take a little getting used to.

    It is much easier and quicker than JohnSs solution, but he is right about the convenience of an all in one unit. For me it is preferable as now my PC is setup I rarely need a keyboard.

    I don't use it for web and email though. Just for control of my media and DVDs.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  14. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,376
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
  15. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    I think I will go with johns solution for now and buy one of those captain kirk phazers to treat my self later on.

    now thats out of the way I shall explain my system, my new Kloss should be here in a week, it actually comes with a remote and Cyberlink Media centre software.
    the Kloss is based on the new intel 915A chipsets and the onboard video says will handle HDTV resolutions and decode hdtv mpeg2, but I think I will need some power for gaming, can anyone suggest a good gfx card?

    I was gonna get a separate myHD card and output to Sharp GA3e via component, but then I thought if I spec'd my PC powerful enough I would be able to output at the TV's natural resolution 1368x768 via DVI for better output.

    am I right?
     
  16. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,376
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
    For the best compromise with gaming and video quality you want an nVida 6600GT. If you need more gaming with only a slight loss of video and have the money then the 6800 range may be for you.

    If you want to spend less, but still want gaming performance with good video then look at a Radeon 9800pro (or a 9700pro is pretty good too).

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  17. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,376
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
    Yes, DVI is the way to go.
     
  18. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Might have a problem running 1368*768 via dvi from an nvidia card (although the latest drivers are supposed?? to be ok), an Ati will be fine though.
     
  19. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    actually I have cheated I already have an IDEQ200N with an FX5900 and have tried this with my TV, new nvidia drivers allow HDTV resolutions and LCD panel resolutions like 1368.

    then I let Cyberlink handle the software playing bit :smashin:

    powerstrip handles the fiddly bits :smashin:
     
  20. fallwood

    fallwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +6
    You sir are a god, ive been looking for an rf keyboard with built in pointer to replace my now failing airboard ir keyboard, bloody hard to find ir ones nowadays and i thought i was out of luck wanting an rf one. I use the codes from my airboard programmed into my pronto ru950 to controll my htpc, only prob is that sky, tivo and my pj remote seems to get picked up by the airboard receiver causing weird things to happen, this keyboard will complete my htpc setup and make me a very happy man. Cheers.
     
  21. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I started with an ir board as well and replaced it with the gyro a year ago after a drink got spilt across it, I bout the new keyboard on a "it might be ok" but its turned out well and cheap too!!
     
  22. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    Just wondering is there any difference between the 9019URF ,9116URF series apart from size?

    Ideally the 9116 would be best for me as its smaller
     
  23. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Mines the 9019, the difference aside from the handles on the 9019 are a few extra buttons eg: seperate page up and page down buttons. The handles make it easier to use stood up though.
     
  24. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,897
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    Gyration keyboard and mouse here(the mouse can be used without a surface)and Pronto remote.
     
  25. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    they joystick should be the same though right?

    do u get any lag at all?

    also is this the only place u know that sells them as it looks abit cheap, also their is more then one code for the product one is priced cheaper then the other yet they are the same
     
  26. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,376
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
    There is nothing wrong with buying from CPC. They have been around forever.

    No idea why the different codes and prices for the same item though!
     
  27. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    thanx cant find the 9116 on the site may have to go with the 9019
     
  28. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    When you say lag, do you mean response time? - no, or speed? - the joystick that controls the mouse moves the mouse across the screen far slower than you would move your hand with a regular mouse but for me its good enough, its much the same as an ir airboard in this respect.
     
  29. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +528
    Dixons have a belkin bluetooth keyboard & optical mouse in for £19.99 at the mo ... just ordered my 9019 from cpc so i'll let you know how I get on with it ... joystick sounds like a good solution for simple browsing though !!

    Jon
     
  30. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    yep ordered one two, if its a load of monkey sh*t, then I suggest you hold John while I cut his jacobs off :devil:
     

Share This Page

Loading...