How do the 100Hz televisions get along with Sky?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by jem, Jan 28, 2003.

  1. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'm sure I read about some problems regarding 100Hz televisions and Sky digital but can't remember what or where.

    Has anyone had any problems?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    100hz scanning along with other digital picture enhancements can have a negative effect on a digital sourced image, doesn't matter if it's SKY or cable or DTT.
    DVD however seems not to have the same problems probably because they are encoded at higher bitrates and as a rule corners are not cut to save space.

    With 100hz you might see more ghosting/blurring around figures on the screen during fast moving images, however if you were aware of screen flicker on a 50hz TV that will no be evident on a 100hz.

    Basically get a demo of any TV you are interested in and if possible see if it has the option of switching between refresh rates when required.
    You could find that the image it produces is perfectly acceptable to you and yours:)
     
  3. ryanos

    ryanos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    The only problem is to do with poor Sky tranmissions invariably some pictures on 100hz sets look a bit blocky and little grainy this is due to bitrate being shared by too many channels. I have a Sony 32fx66 and it does it .......sometimes....... not enough to really bother me but for £38 a month I do expect a decent picture
    still the pics are 20000 times better that teleworst or ntl so i'll soldier on with Ruperts lot for now :p
     
  4. Andy ARB

    Andy ARB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Jem

    I was told the same thing when I bought my 100hz set from John Lewis.

    The staff there were under instructions to mention this 'incompatability' between Sky digital and 100hz TVs based on a report in WHICH magazine (they didn't say which one or which issue).

    I bought a 100hz set anyway and its been fine, even football etc.

    Hope the above helps

    Andy
     
  5. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +532
    I too have a KV32FX66 and got sky digital

    I find it fine as most programs shows great but a few that are a bit crappy but what do we expect. Once you got your set, set up correctly ie colour, contrast, brightness and sharpness set just nicely you be fine.

    I had my older widescreen turned on the other day to see what it like, i could see it flickering like hell i never go back to it now LOL
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    The replies prove that you have to make your own mind up based
    on actually looking at the displays and getting demos in store or looking at friends/familes setups:)
     
  7. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +532
    Also I like to advise you better demo them by sitting at a distance you be sitting as this makes a different
     
  8. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,397
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +148
    Don't let this put you off.

    I've found with my 100Hz TV and digital broadcasts, you get 'good days' and 'bad days' with pixeling. Unlike DVDs which are nearly always top notch.

    You DO get used to it and there are more 'good days' than 'bad days'.

    Once you do, you'll never want to go back to 50Hz!

    And I used to be VERY Pro 50Hz and thought 100Hz TVs were a waste of time, too pixely and 'juddery' etc.

    I was wrong, very wrong.
     
  9. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +532
    Kevo sums it all up.

    It true you get alot of good days really but just odd time you get a certain program not up to scratch. Also you be able to see what broadcast are crap that you could never notice on a 50 hz tv. Put it this way 100 hz tv is too good for sky some time ;)
     
  10. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,397
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +148
    Don't always go off what you see in the shop. They're rarely set up correctly. Visit somebody you know who has a 100Hz TV would be your best bet.

    The best thing I can say about 100Hz is.....

    It's VERY kind to and easy on the eyes, especially when reading text and playing console games.
     
  11. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +532
    Also beware there are different type of 100hz there are bog standard 100hz then there are more higher up ones. Ie for sony they are 100 digital Plus which I have on my FX66. there also DRC100. And like philps they have pixal plus. So really you need to look into all that
     
  12. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks a lot for all the help.

    It seems that the Sony SL60 is the best bet but unfortunately the stand does nothing for me and the main problem seems to be fitting my Sky+ box into it - it's not deep enough!

    The Pixel+ on the Philips sounded good but after a search on this forum a lot of people seemed to be moaning about them, ranging from poor picture to black bars.

    I then looked at JVC as I already had another JVC widescreen that I'm happy with. I was looking at the AV28X25 or AV28R25. As I had already seen a Sky+ box sitting on the R25 stand, I knew it would fit but I am interested in the picture quality too!

    Unfortunately I don't know anyone with a 100Hz set so I'll need to look in-store.
     
  13. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,335
    The main thing I notice on my Panny is during some football matches I get a lot of "heat haze" type of effect around the players. I don't know the technical term for this but I notice it more on ITV - so much that I sometimes watch it on terestrial.
     
  14. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +532
    I just been watching footy and sky sport 1 leeds match I dont support either team before any of your start LOL just I like to watch football. Anyway it was fantastic on my FX66 could not fault it. As this afternoon I spent some time fine tuning my colour and sharpness setting and it looks like I have hit it on the nail as footbal was spot on no ghosting or anything. So one you got the setting right you should be ok with the FX66 range.
     
  15. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,292
    Not sure if you're aware but the R25 is a 50Hz set. The X25 is 100Hz.
     
  16. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes I was aware - that's why I was asking about the 100Hz sets for the x25 or stick to 50Hz as in the r25.

    Thanks anyway.
     
  17. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    What's the shelf arrangement in the FX66 cabinet by the way? Can't really tell from the picture. More importantly is it deep enough to take the Sky+ box which is 34cm deep?
     
  18. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +532
    For sky + on it own will fit no problem what so ever

    I have

    VCR and Sky Digital on top shelf

    DVD player pioneer 636 which is on the bottom shelf and can easily put Sky Digital on top of that aswell if I wanted.

    I gave measurement on a thread on the TV forum of the stand

    This is the open stand I have.

    The close stand I believe only got one shelf but not seen them in person
     
  19. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I thought this TV came with the closed cabinet. How did you manage to get an open stand?

    One last question - how many RGB scarts are there?
     
  20. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +532
    There are 3 scart sockets 2 being RGB

    You can get open stand or close stand for this tv. John Lewis sells them with open stand.
     
  21. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for the info. It would probably be John Lewis I would use so I'll go in and have a look.
     
  22. bob mushroom

    bob mushroom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    Rookie - you said you had played with the settings and now nigh on perfect - can I ask what you have set them at so I to can have a starting point for perfect viewing
     
  23. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +532
    Hi,

    I will try and get picture taken or even measure the bar to help you out.

    They are not perfect but it the best i had it at. Might need to improve brightness a but but brightness is all down to personal choice.

    I will get back to you
     
  24. bob mushroom

    bob mushroom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    thanks Rookies I look forward
     

Share This Page

Loading...