How do I wipe/clean harddrive before clean install of w7?

gingerpete

Novice Member
Hi, I'm new to these forums so go easy on me!

I have a few pc related problems, I've recently had the persistent blue screen of death when opening certain programs. I have exhausted everything the internet has told me but still no joy so I'm resorting to a clean install of windows 7. What I need to do to completely wipe my internal hd before a clean install? Just to basically insure that anything that might be causing the problem (virus etc) doesn't carry over to my clean install.

Also I have had an annoying problem where when my desktop pc is hardwired to the router nothing else (laptop, ps4 etc) can connect to the Internet whether it's hardwired or wireless. I'm assuming I need to change some router settings but I'm a tragic beginner when it comes to routers and networking. When the pc is connected via wireless, everything works fine but the wireless adapter is crap and looses connection all the time.

I would really appreciate any advice on these issues, thanks

Pete

sparky10

Hi, whilst a clean installation of an operating system is good to do from time to time (fresh start/spring/clean!), speed things up etc, it is not always the answer. I may do it every couple of years or if I consider that something is wrong and I want a fresh start then I will do this. There is one method below for carrying this out for you to look at, although as others will probably let you know there are other ways.
How To Clean Install Windows 7 (Part 1 of 3)

I noticed that you mention some concerns regarding a possible virus/malware. Before you carry out a clean install you could always give your system a scan to check for this using Malwarebytes, this program is a free download and will remove most issues if you have any. I would do this first and see if your system responds.
Malwarebytes | Free Anti-Malware & Internet Security Software

gingerpete

Novice Member