How do i take the perfect close up?

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by ScouserAndy, Jan 15, 2008.

1. ScouserAndy

ScouserAndy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    Can you experts give me some advice on how to take the perfect close up/macro?

The kit i have:

Canon 400D 18-55mm kit
    70-300m tamron tele-macro (1:2) lense
    Tripod

I must add i am a total beginner! :)

Thank you!!

2. Yandros

Yandros

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +528
    Ok, I'll have a go at this.

Subject - although in theory you can make anything interesting with a little creativity, if you've not done any closeups before you might as well make life easy for yourself and pick something photogenic. At this time of year it's a bit thin pickings out in the garden, unless we get a good hard frost. If you're stuck for inspiration, nip out to the garden centre or florist. Valentine's day flowers maybe? (dual purpose!) :devil:

Light - macro indoors needs bright diffuse light. We've had a few threads on setting up a cheap tabletop setup for about £40. Don't even think about using the built in flash or a flash on the hotshoe, the results will be pretty awful. Basically, the easiest thing is to wait until you've got a fairly bright fine day and head outdoors. Direct sun will give you more glowing colours and contrasty images, but can be too harsh (watch for blown highlights).

Support - use a tripod whenever you can obviously. Depending on what you have though, you may have trouble getting low to the ground.