how do i strip QED cable for bare ends?? total noob!!

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by angelgrant, Jan 17, 2008.

1. angelgrant

angelgrant

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    guys i've just ordered 30 meters of QED cable unterminated now i wish i did pay the extra....now i have cable cuters and a stanly knife....how do i go about stripping the wire so i have a bit of bare wire to go into the speakers and av reciever...

sorry i know i sound like a total noob but its my first setup

thanks in advance for all your advice..:thumbsup:

2. davepuma

davepuma
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    I don't what type of wire cutters you have but I would recommend getting a cheap crimping tool that has a built in wire stripper and cutter rom the likes of maplins, ebay or screwfix. Maplins do one with a kit, containing a load of connectors, which might come in handy in the future. If not, they do one without the connectors at around the same price.

Then you simply pop the cable between the relevant sized hole and pull the tool tight around the cable and pull. It should then pull the sleeve off the cable, revealing the copper strands underneath.