How do I remove Master User from PS3 SuperSlim?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by absolutely80s, Jul 2, 2015.

  1. absolutely80s

    absolutely80s
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +763
    Hi

    I am selling my PS3 500GB charcoal black super slim console (CECH-4003C).

    I have been trying to delete the master user name from the console without success. I tried the HDD reformat process (4 hours long!) which didn't work. I also tried signing into PSN and clicking deactivate under account management. No luck.

    Anyone know the way to do this?

    Cheers
     
  2. absolutely80s

    absolutely80s
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +763
    No clues?
     
  3. Nakatsu_Hime

    Nakatsu_Hime
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK / Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +72
    I would have thought a quick-format would suffice. Surely that would wipe data and revert the console to a blank state?
     
  4. absolutely80s

    absolutely80s
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +763
    It removed everything except the master user name. Also cannot change the name either.
     
  5. Nakatsu_Hime

    Nakatsu_Hime
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK / Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +72
    I'll tell you a method that will definitely remove the master profile details from your PS3. That is, convincing the PS3 that you are replacing its HDD with a new one.


    Remove the HDD from the PS3 and connect it to a PC.

    Even if you do absolutely nothing on the PC, when you reattatch the HDD to the PS3, the PS3 should reformat the HDD to a blank PS3 state, as if it's a new HDD you are trying to install.
    You'll also need the PS3's update file on a USB stick to complete the reinstall. The link is below:
    PS3

    Place the .pup file in PS3 --> UPDATE directory on a USB stick.

    I know this sounds like a sledgehammer-nut situation, and it is, as there seems no easy method to remove the primary user profile.
     
  6. absolutely80s

    absolutely80s
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +763
    Thanks! Yes, that is a bit extreme. I've decided to create a new user named "new user", which then enabled me to delete the original profile. Weird how you cant truly reset to out of the box state though.
     
  7. Nakatsu_Hime

    Nakatsu_Hime
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK / Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +72
    Glad it's sorted :)
     
  8. burkevalocks

    burkevalocks
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Ratings:
    +2
    The way I did it was I created a new user and once you do that it will give you the option to delete any other user as long as your not signed into the one you want to delete. So in a sense you just need to be logged out of the one you want to delete and log on to one that is new and delete the one you want.
     

Share This Page

Loading...