Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

How do I remote control my PC?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by bigfatsi, Apr 15, 2005.

  1. bigfatsi

    bigfatsi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been using my Plasma as a screen for my PC for a while to play big screen games, playing DivX movies etc and have left the DVD player to take care of the DVD's. However the DVD player is so completely crap (toshiba 240E) that I have started to look into playing them through the PC too. I have got TheaterTek, FFdShow and Dscale and have been playing with them and am quite impressed with the results but to integrate the PC in properly I want to be able to remote control it as I do everything else. I have a sunwave 3000 multi remote that should work fine, but on the PC side I have no idea. I have an IR receiver that I use for my old phone to send receive data etc, can I use this as a receiver for the remote? If so what software do I need. If not what do I need to make it work? :lease:
     
  2. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure about using your current IR reciever etc.
    A really simlpe solution that might be worth considering though is the ATI Wonder Remote - this has an RF reciever that plugs into the USB. the remote can also control the mouse. Before MCE came along I used one of these with Showshifter.
    The
    ATI Wonder costs about £20
     
  3. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,274
    The gyration mouse is really good too, a usb receiver is connected to the pc, the mouse sits on a recharging base, and you can use it up to 25 feet away. You can also wave it in the air or operate it on a surface like a normal mouse.
    You can get a matching keyboard also.
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I use both a Remote Wonder and Gyration keyboard & mouse .. the ATI is cheap the Gyration not. :) The Gyration mouse is incredily easy to use, if slightly 'odd' in that you literally wave it about in the air! (it can be used conventionally too).

    I use the ATI to control TT.

    If you want an IR solution then I have the iMon Inside (it came with the PC case), the remote itself is pretty average but of course a learning remote can capture the codes .. the 'inside' version of the iMon support remote power-up, which isn't supported by all IR modules for PCs.
     
  5. mahkum

    mahkum
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This remote supports MCE 2005 as well. It is available in a slightly different guise here
     
  6. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    You can buy IR receivers which connect to your com port for about £6, they connect to your system with a program called Girder. There is also a TheaterTek plugin for Girder. All you need is a suitable remote. I use a spare code on a Kameleon 6in1.
     
  7. bigfatsi

    bigfatsi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I want to hear!!

    I've just installed Theatertek so it would seem the best and cheapest option for me right now. Any idea where I'd get one from?
     
  8. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,962
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1,026
    The ATI Wonder sounds interesting, do you assign mouse and keyboard buttons to the control or is it controlled via TT software, do you know if this would work with Zoomplayer.
     
  9. zoidy

    zoidy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +53
  10. jpfrost

    jpfrost
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could you suggest somewhere to buy the IR receiver for £6.

    Thanks
     
  11. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Have a look in the Girder site forum, someone will be making them. I'd make my own, not much to one really.
     
  12. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,379
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +101
    I could do with the IR reciever as well to enable me to use my ne Logitech Harmony remote with my pc when it arrives.Anyone found one yet?
     
  13. TheAvalanche

    TheAvalanche
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need one also...
     
  14. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +37
    and me!
     
  15. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    You can pick up premade IR recievers from eBay pretty cheaply. I bought a serial version from this chap and it works flawlessly with my Harmony remote. You can also ask him to extend the lenght if needed (I went for a 3m lead), delivery was fast. There is also an alternative available; 1m but looks a little more solid with a nice plastic sheath.
     
  16. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,379
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +101
    Just bought one.
    Thanks.:thumbsup:
     
  17. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Or make your own for less than the cost of a sandwich.

    Found this, if you can solder.
     
  18. bigfatsi

    bigfatsi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've ordered from the second one. Cheers! I've heard that Girder is a real nightmare to configure so I'm looking forward to loads of fun!!!
     
  19. originalbadboy

    originalbadboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    IRMAN ... Its all you need

    http://www.intolect.com/

    Bought one about 3 years ago, never needed anything else. Works well with girder, and other programs.
     
  20. jpfrost

    jpfrost
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  21. mahkum

    mahkum
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    jpfrost - That remote is the same as the one being sold here. I downloaded the software from Niveous and it works perfectly.
     
  22. gingerjumper

    gingerjumper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the ATI wonder remote but cannot get it to work with winamp or windows media player for skipping/rewinding/playing/pausing music. Does anyone know if it's possible to configure it?

    If not, can anyone recommend a remote that would allow this functionality?

    cheers

    gj
     
  23. pRot3us

    pRot3us
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6,360
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,475
    It has mouse cursor controls and buttons programmed onto it as standard, there are plugins for many popular programs that you can download for it to work with TT,Zoomplayer,etc. also with the Remote Wonder Key Factory plugin you can program custom keypresses/hotkey settings to any of the buttons :smashin:
    yep it works with both media player and winamp

    download remote wonder plugins here ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice