1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do i register wireless router??

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by newstuart, Feb 22, 2005.

1. newstuart

newstuart

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +59
    I have just installed a D-Link DI-624+ wireless router in my system. The giude asks me to type http://192.168.1.1 into my url and enter - this should bring me to a registration screen - I have tried this about 20 times now but keep getting "this page can not be displayed. any ideas most greatfully appreciated

Im also trying to connect a XDA2S pda to the new network and ideally surf the net and sync it with my pc by wifi, Im new to all of this including the PDA so would much apreciate any advice PLEASE :lease:

2. dekoded

dekoded

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +45
    How have you got it connected to your pc?

should be:
    cable/dsl - cable/adsl modem - cat5- router - cat5 - PC

hope that makes sense.

3. Gizmo 76

Gizmo 76

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +522
    Just an idea, but you are inputting the address in Internet Explorer and not some other browser?!?

4. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Is this a new network setup or have you been using the PC connected directly to an ADSL modem?

How have you connected the PC to the router? IMX it's common that the initial setup of a wifi router has to be done using a wired connection.

Right-click on My Network Places, click Properties, right-click on the icon for your network card, click Properties, on the General tab double-click Internet Protocol and tell us what it says there.

Ignore the PDA for the time being. :)

5. Nicky

Nicky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5