How do I record SKY broadcast on my Sony DVD HD recorder?

R

Roger Walker

Hi all, newbie here. I recently moved my Freeview DVD/HDR to another room away from my SKY box (old Sony satelite receiver - not Sky+). The box is fed via RF cable from the Sky box RF OUT2 and routed under the floorboards to the other room. This has always been the source of TV signal for this room, even prior to going digital. I have always been able to get all TV channels and Sky by searching with the sky box on. When I got a new digital TV for this room I was still able to get SKY by searching the Analogue signal - I now know this is broadcast on channel 68. The picture is not brilliant but quite watchable. I now want to be able to record from this channel but cannot pick it up from my Freeview DVD/HD recorder! This unit also has an analogue tuner and I can 'download TV listings' to the unit - but when selected the TV screen is blank (black).
Previously when this recorder was in the main room with the Sky box they were individually linked to the TV by separate scart leads and to record from Sky (AV1) I selected "Line 1" from the timer recording menu. It would then record at the times I set whatever station the Sky box was tuned to.
As I can actually view Sky broadcasts on the TV in the other room, the signal must be available via the RF coax cable. For some reason I cannot find this signal in my DVD/HD recorder. I can select TV, A(preset = chan 68), in the timer recording menu - but it records a blank signal.

Any ideas anyone?

I think you need to help us out with some more information.

a. What model DVD/HD Recorder do you have? [ I looked up information for the Sony RDR-HX870 to see if that could help.]

b. Have you ever recorded an analogue signal from an external aerial? [Your analogue tuner may never have worked.]

c. What do you mean by "download TV listings"? [ Not a phrase I have come across. Do you mean the Freeview EPG?]