1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I 'Over Drive' my speakers

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Dre, Aug 24, 2005.

1. Dre

Dre
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have lost sound on a couple of my speakers as part of my 5.1 setup. I have spoken to the manufacturer to get these replaced under warranty and they have said that I've probably 'over driven' my speakers? So what is 'over driven' the specification of the speakers is 100W at 8 ohms, my amp is 80W at 8 ohms so how do i 'over drive' the speakers?

2. The_Mole

The_Mole

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi Dre. not exactely sure what "overdriven" means but it may be another term for speaker blowout. i am not an expert but i do know that speakers are more likely to blowout when the Amp has a lower wattage than the speakers. Apparently this is because you are much more likely to turn the Amp up full. But turning the amp up full creates a distortion in sound which in turn could damage your speakers.

3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    What that means is that it cannot possibly be our fault so it must be something you've done. As a matter of interest which two speakers in your 5.1 formation is that have been "overdriven"

4. recruit

recruit

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't accept it that you have overdriven you're speakers if under warranty and they have stopped working get them to either fix or arrange for a new pair to be collected.

5. KoThreads

KoThreads

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +157