How do i make email address and use them in outlook

Discussion in 'Sky Broadband' started by jezzerr, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Im now with sky one thing im finding hard is making a email address for my daughter and the wife i also want to have it so it can be used in outlook express not using the my sky email.
     
  2. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    Hi

    To create additional users login to your sky.com account with your primary user name and once you are logged in click on the my sky tab. Then select profile & settings and select additional users. From here click on create additional users and then enter the relevant information.

    Then use following link to enable POP or IMAP on the relevant sky emails and also for instruction on how to set up your email client or program.

    http://www.sky.com/helpcentre/broadband/email-and-tools/pop-imap/
     
  3. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi well something is not right im trying to put my email address in that came with my sky account but its just not having it in outlook.
     
  4. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    Are you getting an error message and if so what is it.
     
  5. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Things are slowly getting right but im now getting this message:

    The server you are connected to is using a security certificate that could not be verified. Do you want to continue using this server?
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2012
  6. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Can you actually make different email address? When i was with freedom2surf i could make loads of email address that ended in f2s but i cant seem to find out if i can for example make a email address as [email protected]
     
  7. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    The steps to create additional users in my first post will allow you to do this. For example if you create an additional user and make their user name nerd then that creates the email [email protected].

    Did you get your outlook issue fixed?
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012
  8. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers will get that done easy as that.

    Well the outlook problem with the message still comes up but if i press ok to run it then i get my emails.
     
  9. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    In Outlook account settings make sure that SPA is unchecked.

    Also don't forget to regularly go into your E-Mail via Sky.com and empty all your folders, (Sent, Spam and Bin)
     
  10. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers i will remember to clear/empty those folders.

    Yep the SPA is unchecked has no one had the message come up before?
     
  11. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    Is the date and time on your pc correct as this can produce security certificate messages when incorrect.
     
  12. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Shame that would of been a easy fix but time/date is correct.
     
  13. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    Have you ticked "this server requires a secure connection" for both incoming and outgoing ports
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012
  14. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yep both ticked.
     
  15. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    In the servers tab have you ticked my server requires authentication?
     
  16. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have.

    Just to let you know i can get my emails and i can also send them,Just this message about the certificate.
     
  17. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    I know in the security tab you can enter a security certificate but it is something I have no experience of so I am unsure how you would progress with this. I did look this error up but it seems like there are different fixes ranging from purchasing a certificate to creating a certificate but once again these are something i have no experience in.
     
  18. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok cheers for having a quick look.
     
  19. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    Anytime, I also read someone who said they used a restore point on their pc after the message appeared but I was not convinced by this.
     
  20. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers might give that a go if i find no otherway.
     
  21. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    No bother, hope you get it fixed. If you do fix it post how you did it as it is has got me scratching my head.
     
  22. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Fixed it and it was all my fault

    I had my freedom2surf email still set up still in outlook but what i had done was to make the sky one the default email,So by deleting that old email i now dont get the message.
     
  23. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    Nice, glad its fixed.
     
  24. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yep happy now,And now i can make other email address for the rest of the family.

    Still dont know why having my old email messed things up,Maybe it was checking that aswell.
     
  25. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    I wondered the same thing, i know some people will use multiple email accounts from different sources in outlook but never heard of it causing that issue. Must have been some reason for it though.
     
  26. jezzerr

    jezzerr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +4
    Is this the only way to do this? As the mrs and daughter doesn't have a email address and you have to put a active email address in for sky to contact you.
     
  27. Hedgehog1979

    Hedgehog1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Livingston
    Ratings:
    +52
    It is unfortunately, as you have said you need to enter another email in the registration process. You will have to create an alternate email for each account i.e. a G mail but once you have created each new sky email you should not need the alternate for anything again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...