Answered How do I know if Netflix is streaming in 4K?

Discussion in 'Film & TV On Demand Streaming Services' started by streetspirit, Dec 30, 2017.

  1. streetspirit

    streetspirit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a new LG 49 SJ TV. There doesn’t seem to be anyway of finding out whether Netflix is playing shows in 4K or not. Internet speed tests on the Netflix app shows me getting around 35mbs. I’m also paying for a Netflix HD subscription. I watched mind-hunter and an episode of black mirror this evening. Whilst both looked good, in my opinion it didn’t look like they were playing in 4K. If I press the I button on my LG app, i get a small bit of information about audio and streaming rates but nothing about picture quality. I’ve looked around the net but it looks like Netflix have killed the ability to check what kind of quality their programmes are streaming in. Amazon on the other hand tell you if something is UHD or HD, but again they don’t use the word 4K. Am I missing something here?
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #7 by raymondo77, Dec 31, 2017 (1 points)
  3. Blu4KHD

    Blu4KHD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +427
    If you press the 'I' button on the remote then whilst in Netflix that limited small amount of information should give you the Resolution ie: 1080/2160 and the bitrate, anything above 15mbps is 2160p 4K
     
  4. streetspirit

    streetspirit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    New LG televisions do not have an I button on the remote control
     
  5. Blu4KHD

    Blu4KHD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +427
    'I' aka (Info) button
     
  6. streetspirit

    streetspirit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There’s no info button
     
  7. Blu4KHD

    Blu4KHD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +427
    if you have the Magic Remote then sorry no idea as i use a harmony which does have the Info button
     
  8. raymondo77

    raymondo77
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +8,765
    Best Answer
    Some new LG TVs ship with a magic remote that doesn't have the info button.

    If you have a smartphone you can download the LG TV Plus app which, when paired with the TV, will give you the info button functionality.

    It's what I use with my C7 OLED.
     
  9. count zero

    count zero
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newquay
    Ratings:
    +92
    When you say you have a HD subscription do you mean HD or UHD. Netflix have 3 subscription packages. You need the UHD on 4 devices one (£9.99 p/m).
     

Share This Page

Loading...