How do i get rid of this spy program?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by PhilipVass, Jul 31, 2004.

  1. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It comes up messenger service and it is some advert telling me how to erase spyware but it is spyware adverts it is in the windows folder under the name "msagent" and it won't let me delete it but when i try to remove it it says the program is in use ect...how can i remove it...Ad ware wont let me take it away, i'm running XP btw.. thanks.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    try a searh for the file name at symantec and in windows help.
     
  3. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's in a folder, when i try to remove it, it keeps coming back...
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    it probably edits a registery value, have a go in SAFE mode and remove cookies etc
     
  5. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How to i put it into safe mode?
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,966
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,835
    When the computer is booting up (just before windows starts loading) keep tapping the F8 function key. It will then come up with a menu offering you safe mode. Be patient when going into safe mode as windows takes a lot longer to load.
     
  7. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Logged in safe mode, removed the files, did a reboot, the files return and i am getting these adverts again!! what can i do NOW?
     
  8. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
    If they are popups in a grey box that you have to click ok to it might be windows messenger. you can disable it and it will stop them http://www.lantalk.net/disable_messenger.php

    If you have not updated windows you should, and use a firewall.
     
  9. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks that seems to have stopped them, when you say "update" do you mean go to the windows website and do the auto update?
     
  10. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
    Yep the windows critical updates would be a good idea. There are also two service packs out for windows XP.
     
  11. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any ideas how long the install progress takes for these service packs?
     
  12. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    If on broadband it can take about 30 minutes up to 1 hour or so depending on how out of date your PC is.... on Dial up it can take HOURS (MANY!)

    Or wait a few weeks for MS to release SP2 (Service Pack2) which is a free update that includes all uptdates...... A free CD should be available from MS website soon.

    Incidentally, that pop up is probably trying to sell you software to stop pop up adverts!!! oh the irony!

    Go to google.co.uk and search for ADAWARE program, download it (free) install it, update it, scan your PC and see what it finds (spyware and other junk)

    It sometimes pays to turn OFF system restore before scanning....

    Again, do a search on Google about System Restore (sorry I can't be arsed to type it right now)
     
  13. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    903
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ad-Aware and Spybot finds that sorta stuff in my computer, you can download them both for free. They usually find different stuff, so I scan regularly with both programs.
     
  14. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
    A guess, about ten hours on dialup :) i think you can get the cd from the miro$oft website. You should be able to download the critical updates separately, some of them can be pretty big too.

    BTW if your using a pirated version of windows the update might stop your pc from working.
     
  15. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    903
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I´d run the computer in safe mode, scan it with ad-aware+spybot+norton antivirus and see if that works.
     
  16. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    These messenger popups are a real pain....
    You'll need to halt the messenger service (which has nothing to do with microsoft messenger).
    Delete everything in the windows temp folder, this is how the messenger ad-ware ususally lurks & re-infects.
    Delete everything in internet explorer cache folder including all cookies.
    Open the windows folder & view the folder by date, are there any recent DLL & exe files in there?
    Run adaware, but update the program first.
    HTH.
    Tim.
     
  17. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    Also I think that using a firewall (even XP's built in one) will stop the messenger service popups... and anyone who isn't using a firewall with XP is siimply asking for virus infections (and will get one or two very quickly)

    and here's the XP SP1 update disc order form:
    http://www.microsoft.com/uk/windowsxp/servicepacks/sp1.mspx
     
  18. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a go at downloading the SP1 but it failed...!..anyway i got a firewall called 'Zone alarm' which seems to be good.
     
  19. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
  20. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,452
    Well I'm at work and my PC has had these popups for 2 days, even when I'm not on the internet. We are behind a high security firewall and I have installed adaware 6 and run it about 10 times. Every time it runs it finds files it needs to remove, if PC has been rebooted it can be as many as 40+ files. I have already emptied all the temp/internet folders etc and still no luck. As I work in IT these were the first things I did, but still no luck.
    The problem is that as a shift worker (look at the time of this post, I'm mad but even I would be in bed by now if not at work!) and others use my PC when they are on shift and I'm not, so I just don't know what they have downloaded etc.
    Oh well looks like the PC will be reburnt from the Ghost image in the morning and hopefully sorted by the time I get back into work in the evening. A bit drastic, but at least I know it will get rid of the problem.

    Mark.
     
  21. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    903
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you tried running Ad-Aware+Spybot+Norton Antivirus while in safe mode?
     
  22. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,452
    Not on my companies PC's.
    As I said I've run adaware, but nothing else other than the McAfee antivirus software that is always running on all PC's.
    Even downloading and running adaware could get me into trouble for loading unauthorised software onto a company PC so I'm wary of doing anything else.
    Still, I'm quite happy to let others work on the problem once I've gone home to bed. But that's not untill 10:00, so just another 6 hours to go :boring:

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice