1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I get my Xbox on Live ?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by MacReady, Mar 25, 2005.

  1. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +105
    I am a complete novice when it comes to this and have no idea where to start. I was not really interested in joining the Live community but a few friends at work are on it and have persauded me to get in on in too :)

    I am going to get the Live starter kit in the next week but it how I connect it to my broadband that is puzzeling me. I have done a bit of a search but can't find a proper answer.

    I am using BTBroadband with the origonal green flat fish modem which would appear to be a bit useless for this job so am lead to believe I will need to buy a router. What then ?...and do I keep the flat fish modem or do I need to replace that too??

    Sorry for sounding such a novice on this but it is something I have never really looked into before.
     
  2. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    you need a ADSL modem with an ethernet output or better still a router with a built in ADSL modem (which will also have ethernet output but allow you to connect more than one device, such as your pc, xbox, laptop whatever). You can't get ethernet out of the ADSL modem you already have, although you could use your PC as a router and add an extra network card to it but that's more fiddling than it's worth.
     
  3. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +105
    Thanks for that. I am going to get a combined ADSL router/modem and use that.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
  5. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +105
    They both look good for the price.

    Thanks:thumbsup:
     
  6. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,817
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    The are 2 ways:

    The first requires your PC to be on when you want to go on live, and it has to have a network card installed (ethernet), then your just share you internet connection.

    The second and best is to use a router with a built in modem, this just connects your xbox to the internet when you need it, and can also hook up your PC, Laptop etc to it, and even go wireless at a later date using a wireless access point.

    I would recommend Netgear routers, as they are defintely compatible with live and the DG834 versions have a built in proper hardware firewall and also other features which the cheaper ones don't have.
    A router should also be slightly faster that sharing, as going through USB and a PC will add extra milliseconds (you need all the help you can get when plaing rainbow six etc)
     

Share This Page

Loading...