1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I get high definition from Xbox

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by eugdog, Mar 30, 2004.

  1. eugdog

    eugdog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want high definition from my X -box for my projector

    If I get a US sourced machine and use componant connections will that give me High definition? Of course I could only play US games.


    Alternatively can I get my UK box chipped or modified for high definition,
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    Lots of threads about this. Let Search be your friend :)
     
  3. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,044
    yes to both of your questions. US Xbox with HD kit, or modded Xbox (either get yours chipped if you have one, or buy one premodded). The modded ones are slightly more flexible, as you can play UK games, still play live (switch the mod off), and play DVDs/MPEGs in HD.



    You may now search if you need more specifics... :)
     
  4. dj898

    dj898
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the safest way would be US xbox with the mod chip that can be turned off for XLIVE.

    I was fortunate(?) enough to get my hand on US xbox 1.1 M/B for nothing. Someone attempted to install 1st gen mod chip but ended up lifting few tracks. :)

    I fixed/cleaned up and put it into Green transparent shell.
    looks great and it plays pretty much everything - although haven't tried DVD-R backups as I cannot be bothered with downloading images... :p

    cheers
     
  5. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +935
  6. dj898

    dj898
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    yes it will however from what I heard M$ is testing a way to detect those PAL Xbox with NTSC video output and will ban them on the ground of in the breach of XLIVE contract or what ever...

    the safest bet will be US Xbox M/B mate.
    and the switch to turn off the mod chip.

    cheers
     
  7. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,264
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    is the MS hidef kit the best to go for , or is there a viable alternative , bearing in mind i reqire optical out
     
  8. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    My official MS high deff pack has just decided not to output any sound from the optical output, i am now using one made by play on which my brother got packaged with a steering wheel and extra pad. It looks and sounds just as good as the MS high deff pack but also includes a coaxial digital output, a s-video output and a scart output(composite)
     
  9. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Xbox high def pack is the only way to go to be honest. There is nothing else that I know of that can match the quality and provide 5.1 sound. Its less that £20 delivered......So no brainer really.

    Personally I would not mess with a US xbox. Seems like a load of uneccessary hasle. If you are going to go to that expense why not get a pal modded box for high def and another one untouched for live.

    Apprently MS are going to drop the xb to sub £90 shortly.

    You know its worth it :smoke:

    It looking spectacluar on my ae500, problem is still cant get it properly setup so I can use it. Loft conversion still aint finished but not far away now. 1 - 2 weeks.
     
  10. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,264
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    where from ? My wallets a creakin
     
  11. loofer

    loofer
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
  12. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Liksang. If I remeber correctly it was around £12 Plus delivery from HK.
     
  13. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +463
    i have just installed the xbit with EvoxM7 bios, slayers auto installer and dashboard on my mates xbox
    very easy and quick to install, also there is no need to switch to NTSC signal. Its fully automatic, and we havent had any problems with xbox live with either originals or copies. :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...