1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I get free to air channels on my old Sky Reciever

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by midiman, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. midiman

    midiman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an old Sky digital reciever whose only current use is to prop up the dust in my loft. I was thinking setting it up in the bedroom as a secondary system. I heard somwhere you can get free to air channels but dont know how to go about it. I have a quad LNB in my dish so have 2 spare LNB's. I know I would need to run some high grade co-ax to it. Will it automaticly pickup the channels or would I have to contact Sky to get it activated?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Buy yourself some CT100 sat cable, F connectors and water proof tape.
    Then lay the new cable (being careful not to disturb the dish and LNB positioning) and connect to the digibox.
    Power it up and once it's rebooted you should depending upon the age of the OS get access to the EPG and all the FTA channels with no need to contact SKY, you can then add a £20 FTV card if you want access to ITV1(2), Ch4 and Five.
     
  3. midiman

    midiman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that. I think its about 5 -6 years old so not sure wether it will or wont. Might be worth trying out with the existing cabling before I go to all that trouble. What are my options if the OS is too old. Can I upgrade it like you can with a SKY+ ?
     
  4. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +160
    Most boxes will update, but it may depend on how many updates it has missed. The only real way to know is to try it, but at your own risk.
     
  5. midiman

    midiman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guess I'll just have to dust it down and give it a go. Worst case scenario is that the dust will have more room to breath :D
     
  6. MrRalphMan

    MrRalphMan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Billericay, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I think that if you power your Sky Box on, while holding the backup or the select button (I cannot remember), it will contact Sky and download the latest software.

    I had to do this when I replaced my knack'd box with the mother-in law's

    Paul.
     
  7. SilverJDM

    SilverJDM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bracknell, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +14
    Where do you buy these £20 FTV cards ?? :lease:
     
  8. Dillz

    Dillz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +8
  9. midiman

    midiman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks All :) If my old digi box still works might give freeview a go for £20. The other option of course is multiroom. Dont they do some sort of deal i.e new reciever + free installation?
     
  10. minimus

    minimus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone please tell me why you can't get More4 on Sky without subscribing? Surely it should be free just like C4? I remember a few years ago Sky tried to make you pay to receive C4 but I guess it must have been illegal or something because shortly afterwards they changed policy and it was made available again. Does anyone know about the legality of using public money to fund a channel that is not freely avalable? (I live in an area with no terrestial signal and therefore am held to ransom by Sky)
     
  11. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,883
    Which channel is publically funded?
     
  12. minimus

    minimus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,883
    C4 is funded by advertising afaik.
     
  14. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    Yep, they receive nothing from the License fee but the government did have a stake in the broadcaster and as such meant it wasn't exactly allowed to exist along the lines of a truely commerical broadcaster such as ITV and Five.
     
  15. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979




    CH4 signed a legally binding contract with SKY for encryption and other services which also covered current and future CH4 Dsat channels.
    At the time that meant CH4 was FTV and E4 was subscription with F4 being a standalone premium channel buy using SKY admin.

    CH4 has always required a smartcard.
    The cost of the card was covered by the BBC, Ch4 and Five so the public didn't have to pay directly. When that system fell apart no one was willing to cover the cost of the FTV cards so the only way a new Dsat customer could get one was to buy a subscription to SKY, a few months later the smartcards were offered for £23.50 via a CH4 venture (I think) which lasted a few months.
    SKY for the first time now offer FTV (freesat) cards directly to the UK public for £20 (3 year guarantee) or bundled with their £150 freesat package (5 year guarantee).
     
  16. beerhunter

    beerhunter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +740
    I don't remember the government ever having a stake in Channel four. I thought that it is and always has been funded by advertising.

    I believe that the previous FTV card system 'fell apart' when BBC moved to FTV and saved all us license payers some cash..
     
  17. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
  18. Heinz

    Heinz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earle Colne, Colchester
    Ratings:
    +15
    Which, in a cute piece of marketing, Sky are now undercutting with their current £149 'Sky Gift' pick 2 mixes offer!
     
  19. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    CH4 was setup as a publicly owned broadcaster with oversight by the governments regulator at the time, it was in effect half way between the BBC and ITV being more tightly controlled than ITV but not getting the funding from the license fee.

    Yeah the BBC covered the bulk of the cost of the FTV system (Ch4 and Five paid 12% and ITV paid nothing) and when the BBC went FTA the commercial broadcasters all looked at someone else to pay the bill.
     

Share This Page

Loading...