1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I get Audio using component

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by jamieuk23, Jan 19, 2005.

  1. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi I have just orderd 3 component leads for my xbox PS2 gamecube.

    Just wondering wot audio cables I will need to order as apparently component doesnt support Audo, so I will need to setup the Audio another way.

    What exactly is it I need to buy ????

    I have 5.1 surround sound setup with Amplifier. and would like to have surround sound while playing my games.


    would I use these http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/XFA02-100.html ??

    thanks for help !
     
  2. ns1col

    ns1col
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    If your amp has an optical in, then use the optical digital out on the ps2 and connect to the amp.
     
  3. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
  4. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to this site

    http://www.leconcepts.com/rxr/yamrxer.htm

    it has 5 x Optical Inputs.

    The XBox can also be connected with an optical cable.

    What component cables have you ordered, the XBox has a proprietary plug on it (for plugging into the XBox), there must be some provision for audio, have you got a link to the cables you ordered.

    These for instance these have two phonos for audio http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/XPX04.html

    You would be looking for something like this http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=83&products_id=6238 to use a TOSLINK optical cable.
     
  5. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
  6. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,997
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,676
    Don't know about the cube or ps2 .But the MS hi def pack you have ordered ,has optical out .So all you need is an optical cable between it and the amp

    JS
     
  7. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
  8. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    use the standard cable the comes with your GC for audio
     
  9. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
    I have lost it mate >> any idea wot exactly the cable is called so I can search and buy a new 1 ??

    thanks mate !
     
  10. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Just a standard AV cable
     
  11. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +27
  12. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    XBox (as John said) cable you have ordered has optical out, so a TOSLINK fibre optic cable may be required (couldn't see if it was included in the pack), this will connect into one of the optical INs on your amp, allowing you to make full use of 5.1 surround sound in some games

    The PS2 cable you ordered has the standard 2 phono plug connections so these will plug directly into your amp, as far as I know PS2 doesn't have 5.1 output so not losing anything by not using optical. The only thing is that where the cable splits into the 5 phono plugs is very short, unlikely to stretch between your amp and plasma unless very close together. You may need to extend the 2 audio cables, or the 3 video cables depending on preference and location of your PS2.

    On the Gamecube, a reviewer on the site said this

    ----------------------
    Best Cable I've Seen
    Review by: Sjaak (1) on August 29th, 2004
    I live in Holland and bought a large size JVC (PAL) LCD TV which has of course several ways of connecting the Cube; S-video/ RGB/ composit etc etc. I tried them all. But when I connected this cable via the YPbPr port the picture was SO STUNNING that I forgot about the rather high price. GREAT cable: Don't hesitate, get it.
    little downside is that it doesn't include sound and you need to use the original Cube composit cable to connect the stereo jacks
    , which is then another cable to connect in the cable jungle behind my TV .. ;-D
    ------------------------

    So I presume he is just talking about the cable that came with the GC
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  14. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    You can use composite / RGB and component at the same time too which is handy for some
     

Share This Page

Loading...