How do I extend my meida centre to bedroom TV?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by gphillips, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. gphillips

    gphillips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi

    When I used to have Sky + I extended the picture and remote commands up to the LCD in the bedroom via Coax and the "TV-Link". This worked great.

    Now I no longer subscribe to Sky, and do not have the reciever. I have a Media Centre with freeview. The media Centre is under my main living room TV (as the Sky box was). I need a way of getting the live TV, recorded TV and DVD playback etc up to the bedroom. I have considered the following:

    1. 2nd hand USA Xbox 1 and Extender kit
    2. standard wireless AV sender with remote sender
    3. somehow using the Coax and a TV-link with a 3rd party control box to recieve the remote commands downstairs

    My main problem is how do I get audio and video into either a coax (as RF) or into an AV sender? - My MSI board has digital audio out (which is in use), S-Vide and Composite. I guess I could use the composite into a video sender, but where can my audio come from? I dont think my surround amp has an analogue output of the digital input.

    Hopefully somebody else has figured out the best way to achive this and can offer some assistance?

    The Xbox option seems expensive and a bit over the top, but Im willing if this will give the full functionality I need. I will consider an AV sender as these arent much more than £50 but I need to input the correct signals to send. Coax is already in place but I have no way of feeding in RF downstars!


    Thanks very much
     
  2. BigBry

    BigBry
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can your motherboard output spdif and analogue at the same time, most can. Then you can just use the mini-jack line out for the TV sender along with the composite video.
     
  3. Grasmere999

    Grasmere999
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +67

    Use an old video recorder?, feed the composite into the video recorder, and then use the co-ax out to feed the bedroom TV.
    Then buy a Power-Mid for the remote control?
     
  4. gphillips

    gphillips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks I'll try that. Is the output level from the mini jack sufficient for feeding into a TV / Video sender?
     
  5. gphillips

    gphillips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sorry, what is a power Mid? - will this somehow work with my existing TV-Link (which is redundnat at the moment)

    Will i take the audio from the Mini jack?

    Rather than use a bulky great VHS recorder, I guess I can use some kind of RF adapter?
     
  6. mkonieczko

    mkonieczko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ewhurst, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think what you need is Maplin part number L14Q or VH89W? This will negate the need for an old VCR.

    Powermid is simply a system for transmitting IR but uses radio transmission. You have one that sits somewhere in front of your MCE and then links to others around the house. They are basically small black pyramids approximately 3" in height.
     
  7. Dean[SAS]

    Dean[SAS]
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Personally I'd go for the "2nd hand USA Xbox 1 and Extender kit".

    With the tv sender you really are only sending the signal to another room, however with an xbox you have complete independent control over 'another' MCE, meaning 1 person can watch 1 thing in the living room and someone else can watch something else in the bedroom, over a wifi connection.

    For the sake of £100, it's easily the best option.
     
  8. gphillips

    gphillips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks very much. Do you have experience of this software? or can anybody else advise? - Is the Gui as nice as MCE 2005? is it a product that is updated, or is it static? - any issues at all with DivX, Live tv etc?

    Thanks
     
  9. gphillips

    gphillips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Oh yeah - will the Xtender program definitley not work on UK xbox ?
     
  10. Dean[SAS]

    Dean[SAS]
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I used it before I got my 360, the GUI is exactly the same, it doesn't get updated, well is pseudo does as it is just like a extension of the original MCE - therefore any gui/guide updates etc get passed on.

    It natively can't play divx, but you can use a program like transcoder 360 (http://www.runtime360.com/) to convert divx on the fly to wmv which can be played. i'm 90% sure that transcoder 360 will work on the original xbox.

    Everything else is the same as a normal MCE box.

    It 100% doesn't work on a 'normal' ;) UK xbox
     
  11. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    Option 4 Second hand UK Xbox softmodded at zero cost plus Extender kit
    The modded Xbox will also allow you to run the excellent Xbox Media Center application which will stream & display/play almost any sort of media file.

    It's better to get a UK Xbox & mod it as it will have better pciture quality because you can use the SCART RGB output from it.
     
  12. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    14,596
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +6,717
    I was thinking of using my Xbox but they're just sooo damn noisy :/
     
  13. gphillips

    gphillips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Cool - so tell me more about soft mod? I had no idea you could?

    Also, how can i extend the IR reciever away from the console please? - I want the console in a cupboard, and the IR sensor a few meters away on the wall...

    many thanks
     
  14. movaado

    movaado
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Sittingbourne, Kent
    Ratings:
    +220
    So wheres the best place to get hold of one of these extenders for the original (i.e. not xbox360) xbox?
     
  15. Dean[SAS]

    Dean[SAS]
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    You can't watch live TV or set recordings on it though.
    Now, getting a UK xbox and softmodding for XBMC will also allow a US MCE extender software to work however :smashin:
     
  16. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    It's easy enough to quieten an Xbox by using better fans etc. There is plenty of infor in places like www.xboxscene.com
     
  17. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    Take a look in the Xbox forum on this board. There is a whole thread where people sign up to have the softmd kit posted on to them
    The IR dongle for the MCX remote is identical to that used with the DVD remote control. It plugs into the same socket as the game pads. It's easy enough to buy a game pad extender cable.
     
  18. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    That is exactl what I said. There is no Xbox MCX except the US one.
     
  19. gphillips

    gphillips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    What do you mean by this? You cant watch live TV on a USA Xbox, a UK Xbox, or both?

    Ta
     
  20. gphillips

    gphillips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    But all Xbox remotes seem to have a "break" in the cable into which you insert an extnesion. There doesnt seem to be an extension which actually runs between the connector on the end of the pad / IR and the Xbox port connectors. If that makes sense?
     
  21. Dean[SAS]

    Dean[SAS]
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I meant that XBMC (the app that lets you play divx files) won't allow you to watch live tv or use the MCE GUI.

    You can watch live tv on the extender on a US xbox or a hacked UK xbox (the extender won't boot on a regular UK xbox because of region protection)

    Sorry if i confused everyone.
     
  22. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    You need to buy a purpose made joypad extension cable like this one http://www.divineo.co.uk/cgi-bin/div-uk/xb-extcbl
     
  23. gphillips

    gphillips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    But that is exactly the same as all Xbox pad entenders. It fits into the cable half way along, it will not therefore go between the IR reciever and the port.

    Gareth
     
  24. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    OK Right. I've never seen one in the flesh & the picture is rather ambiguous. In that case you need to splice it to one of these http://www.divineo.co.uk/cgi-bin/div-uk/xb-xbusb
     

Share This Page

Loading...