How do I disable sound on a Sony TV?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by garrad, Mar 3, 2002.

  1. garrad

    garrad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, I have a Sony 32FQ75 and I want to disable the sound from the TV. Now when I mute the tv it leaves a icon in the corner. The otherway (the way I do it now) is to turn the volume right down.

    The problem I have is, my flatmates can't be bothered to swtich the amp on, or my amp is set for DVD and they don't know what is wrong and turn the volume right up, then they realise it is on DVD and change to DBS, then BOOM my speakers come close to exploding!! Very frustrating.

    So I want a way so I can switch off the sound for GOOD. I use SKY passed through my DVD via scart. The only thing I can think of is to buy a video only scart cable, this should be better for my loewe dvd player anyway and will stop the sound coming from the DBS.

    But if you know of another way please let me know.
     
  2. Ron240

    Ron240
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy (but i'm not a Fifer)
    Ratings:
    +466
    Seems to me your problem is not to disable the sound from your tv,but to disable your flatmates from touching it in the first place.:D If they cant be bothered to learn how to work it then they shouldnt be using it in the first place.I would go crazy is somebody treated my equipment like this.
     
  3. garrad

    garrad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is very annoying, especially when I ask them not to. It is not very hard and really p*sses me off.

    I am thinking of buying a remote to make everything really easy for them, (and me).

    We will see..
     
  4. HBK757

    HBK757
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Flatmates ?? *SHUDDER* :mad: :D
     
  5. alanrob

    alanrob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +234
    Why don't you always return the amp back to normal viewing/listening after you have watched a DVD????

    Seems the easy solution to me m8. That way, your flat mates will just have to switch everything on and they shouldn't have to fool about with anything.
     
  6. garrad

    garrad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know, but say I am not there and I am on my PC, they are watching a DVD, that is fine, but then they put the TV on then turn the volume right up, it is when I am out the room.

    I guess electric shock treatment might teach em...
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    23,199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +11,412
    pronto time i think.....with some clever macro's!!

    oh, and yes get rid of the lazy flatmates...
     
  8. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems to me that the real issue has not been addressed. The problem is that a mute icon remains on the screen. Why? This is surely bad design.
     
  9. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,425
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +158
    You want the Philips Pronto.

    With this I have set up a macro that turns on the amp, turns the volume down on the TV and switches to the AV1 channel....all from one button.

    I also have another macro that reverses the above.


    This would be ideal for you and especially your flatmates who should all chip in for the £150 for the Pronto.
     
  10. jamesb

    jamesb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    > This is surely bad design.

    welcome to the world of the sony 32fq75 :p
     
  11. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,083
    I think, if it was mine, that I'd do exactly what you have already suggested; remove or disconnect the audio signals from the SCART cable.

    Of course, if it weren't for those wretched SCART things, it would be a much easier matter to just pull out the audio signal cables.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice