1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Do I Connect My Pc To My Tv

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by darkseed, Apr 20, 2005.

1. darkseed

darkseed

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there guys im a complete newbie and was wondering if this would work!

trying to connect my ntl / tv to my pc so that i can:

1)watch dvd movies from my pc onto the tv

2)watch ntl and record ntl stuff on my pc via my dvd /cd writer.

I have a JVC AV-28X4 tv and ntl samsung box and have a geforce fx 5200 with tv out, does nayone know of the best method to achieve this without spending much?

I thought it was just a process of buying a s video cable and running it from my graphics card to the TV and then a separate RCA cable for the audio from the card intothe TV, is this correct guys?

I am confusing myself!!

2. DaveP

DaveP

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0

That will certainly let you watch DVDs on the tele.

Recording from NTL is a whole new ball game. I don't have NTL so I'll leave it for for some other expert!

Dave

3. lisag

lisag

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +336
    I don't know about NTL either, but you will definitely need some type of tv tuner card and software to capture the tv in signal on your pc and record it to your hard drive, then transfer to DVD if you wish.

4. darkseed

darkseed

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    will that also let me watch tv on my pc??? from ntl or not?

Im not really too fussed about recording from NTL, but watching NTL on my pc would be cool!

5. DaveP

DaveP

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    No. You will need some form of capture card or TV/Capture card to do that.

Dave

6. darkseed

darkseed

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0