Question How do I connect my new projector?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by MonkeyPrince, Jan 3, 2018.

  1. MonkeyPrince

    MonkeyPrince
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    Hi
    I've recently bought my first projector and screen. The screen is mounted above my TV on one wall with the PJ on a high shelf on the opposite wall. Sofa etc is in between.

    I use Sky Q and a PS4 which are both in a unit beneath the TV and screen, their HDMI's are fed into my Sony 7.1 A/V receiver.

    I have an HDMI switcher so that when I turn the TV off, the receiver video output gets routed via a long ugly HDMI cable to the PJ.

    This was OK for a few weeks, but SWMBO wants it gone.

    Is there a simple (hopefully inexpensive) solution that I'm missing? Some sort of wireless gizmo maybe?

    I still want sound to go through the A/V Receiver, but need a way to send the 1080P image signal directly to the PJ.

    It's an Optoma HD142X

    Cheers

    The layout looks something like this ->

    Capture3.JPG
     
  2. Vila

    Vila
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +536
    You can get wireless HDMI senders, but they're not cheap or necessarily the most reliable things.

    If you have a 7.1 amp I'm assuming you have at least 2 (if not 4 rear speakers) that you are running cable to the back of the room for - can you not hide the HDMI cable in a similar fashion?
     
  3. MonkeyPrince

    MonkeyPrince
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    Thanks for the quick reply. I have 4 rear speakers whose cables were hidden behind the walls and ceiling when I had my extension built. The whole room is essentially cable free apart from this new 30ft HDMI cable.
     
  4. Vila

    Vila
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +536
    If its in cable conduit you might be able to 'pull' a thinner HDMI cable through.
     
  5. MonkeyPrince

    MonkeyPrince
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    Unfortunately, they are all bare cables that are fed through a brush covered plate behind the AV cabinet, routed up behind the narrow gap between plasterboard and block wall, up over the ceiling in the inaccessible loft void and down the other side.
     
  6. Vila

    Vila
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +536
    You don't happen to have any networking cable run around the room - you can convert that to HDMI.
     
  7. MonkeyPrince

    MonkeyPrince
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    No, unfortunately not.
     
  8. Vila

    Vila
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +536
    I'd say your choices are

    a) spend the money on wireless
    b) spend the money getting a cable run (and get it further proofed if you do)
    c) Buy a thin (white) cable and try and run it as neatly as possible
     
  9. MonkeyPrince

    MonkeyPrince
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    Great advice - thanks for taking the time

    1) A quick search shows kit for £200 - £300, but can be problematic
    2) I'd probably need a builder for this
    3) The shortest run around the skirting and up to the PJ would be around 50ft :eek:
     
  10. Abacus

    Abacus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Torbay
    Ratings:
    +339
  11. MonkeyPrince

    MonkeyPrince
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    Yes, thanks Bill. Annoyingly expensive. I was hoping that some sort of Chromecast or Roku stick type option might work, but I didn't know whether the sound could be sent to the Amp, whilst the video goes to the PJ
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice