how do i connect it

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by louishm, Dec 30, 2006.

  1. louishm

    louishm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +57
    ok here we go:

    i have just bought a cheap set up for my living room,(sony str-dg500 amp, eltax 5 spk set) now i want to use the sub off my old sony all in one, but i am unsure how to connect it, my setup in my cellar hc was easy my elatx sub has the rca input so was basically plug and play.
    the new amp has the "sub out" connection but my old sony sub just has the + & - spring clip connections.
    can it be connected and if so how?



    thanks in advance
    paul
     
  2. sunnyb4u

    sunnyb4u
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there

    normally on my amp i use the single phono out to 2x phono red and white to my gale 8 sub

    my amp is the yamaha rx-v359

    sureley your sub has both the bare wire terminals and the 2x phono connectors?
     
  3. louishm

    louishm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +57

    thanks for the quick reply sunny, but no it only has the 2 bare wire connections (no phonos),it is off an all in one setup. could i plug a phono into my sub out on my amp and split the other end so i have 2 bare wires and connect these into the sub.
     
  4. Nimby

    Nimby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    9,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Danish Bacon Factory
    Ratings:
    +671
    lousihm

    No you can't wire it up like that!

    Translating your first post into English was far too much like hard work despite my usual willingness to answer even the most basic queries.

    Even though I eventually understood what you were asking I really couldn't see why anybody should bother to try to answer. (Hint: Nobody tried to except sunny)

    If you want a decent response to your query you should make your sentences into short statements or questions.

    Use capitals, full stops and question marks just like the rest of us. (Though we don't demand anything like perfection we do expect to understand without too much effort)

    Think before you start typing.

    Break what you want to say down into short sentences.

    Use commas only to separate lists of things. Not as a universal punctuation mark.

    Good luck with your problem. ;)

    Best regards
    Nimby
     
  5. louishm

    louishm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +57
    sorry nimby i was expecting help with my problem not an english lesson
     
  6. Dynaudio Desire

    Dynaudio Desire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury st. edmunds
    Ratings:
    +57
    OK then mate let me do a brief explanation.

    Your Sony sub that you would like to connect to your system, is actually what we call a "passive" subwoofer. This basicly means it requires amplification from an external amplifier (not already built into the sub). An active subwoofer is where it drives itself as it has an imbuilt amplifier and the settings for your subwoofer can be adjusted on the amp panel for your subwoofer.

    What you are trying to do is connecting a passive subwoofer which just is not going to work. The subwoofer you want to hook up requires the "Main unit" form your previous HC system to power it.

    There might be a way but its not worth the hassle in my opnion!

    Anyway it would be nice if you could take just a little more care into your posts.
     
  7. Nimby

    Nimby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    9,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Danish Bacon Factory
    Ratings:
    +671
    I'm saying nowt. :D
     
  8. louishm

    louishm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +57
    thanks dynaudio that was all i needed to know. so it looks like i am saving some pennies for a new sub.
     
  9. Dynaudio Desire

    Dynaudio Desire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury st. edmunds
    Ratings:
    +57
  10. Nimby

    Nimby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    9,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Danish Bacon Factory
    Ratings:
    +671
    Louishm

    I addition to DD's comments:

    Most passive subs aren't of very high quality. :thumbsdow

    They usually draw power in parallel with the speakers which can halve the impedance seen by the amplifier. :thumbsdow

    This gives the amplifier a very hard time and it may easily overheat if the system is played loudly. Been there. Done that. :suicide:

    A poor subwoofer can make the sound quality far worse than no sub at all. Particularly if the sub plays full range with no filter or crossover. :thumbsdow

    I really wouldn't bother with this sub however tempting it might be because you already own it.
     
  11. louishm

    louishm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +57
    thanks for the replies chaps. yeah the reason i wanted to use the sony was because it matched my other kit (silver + black) and because i already had it. my sub in the hc is a eltax thunder 8 but unfortunately its pine. Anyway thanks for the link
     

Share This Page

Loading...