How do I connect a Sub to Active speakers

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by ALIEN1X, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. ALIEN1X

    ALIEN1X
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi,

    I have active speakers- stereo setup, with an active sub connected to them via volume adjustable out put. They are high end Yamaha Muti media speakers using active servo technology.

    But the sub keeps on cutting out due to auto shut off if signal is low.

    So I want to by Sub like MS309i or somthing. Can I connect this to the Volume adjustable output on my Multimedia speaker?

    Regards
    Alien1x
     
  2. Member 96948

    Member 96948
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,238
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fen Edge
    Ratings:
    +2,253
    Can you provide a link to the actual speakers?

    Russell
     
  3. ALIEN1X

    ALIEN1X
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    My speakers are Yamaha YST M100. On the rear the speaker has a sub output known as volume adjustable output.

    This output is a stereo mini jack to stereo mini jack input of the sub.

    My existing sub is called Yamaha YST MSW10.

    Ok they are PC speakers, but some people use them as cheap studio monitors. I have connected them to my freeview and satellite box.

    Here is some links for speaker and Sub...

    http://www.ciao.co.uk/Yamaha_YST_M100_PC_multimedia_speakers__17776

    http://www.yamaha.co.jp/english/product/av/products/pc/msw10.html


    Regards
    Alien1x
     
  4. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    65,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +45,986
    You will be fine :thumbsup:

    Dave
     
  5. ALIEN1X

    ALIEN1X
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    How do you know if it will work with my active monitors?
     

Share This Page

Loading...