1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I check the firmware version on my Denon 1910?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by DPhil, Nov 10, 2004.

  1. DPhil

    DPhil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone let me know how to get the firmaware version no. please?

    Thanks
     
  2. DPhil

    DPhil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone help with this pls? I got a new 1910 which is Multi-region, expecting the firmware to be upgraded to fix the DVI issues.

    Those issues are still there, so I think it may still be version 1.09.

    How can I tell which version of firmware I have?
     
  3. paulw77

    paulw77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2000
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +19
    You need to perform the first few steps of the multiregion mod (the bits before you enter the disc). The firmware version is then shown on the display.

    The instructions are on here somewhere.
     
  4. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    Press 9876 and 'search mode' when no disc in player (startup screen).
     
  5. Andretti

    Andretti
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm chasing all around the world for a Multi region patch... You guys seem to be the only ones who got it.

    Is it available anywhere?

    Could someone PLEASE fill me in on this, so that I can report back to other forums. Does it COME with the 1.10 firmware???

    I've asked this question MANY times in many places. No one answers. Still someone here OBVIOUSLY must know, since you got multi region players..

    Help.

    A
     
  6. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DPhil, Can you explain what the "DVI issues" are exactly?
     
  7. paulw77

    paulw77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2000
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +19
    I have had my 1910 multiregion modded. My mod DID NOT upgrade the firmware to 1.10.

    I assume the "DVI issues" relate to the image not filling the screen on PAL material ?
     
  8. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using the DVI output of the 1910 with PAL (I don't have any NTSC discs and my machine is region 2 only, firmware 1.09). I have no problem with the image filling the screen at 576p and 1080i. There is a border around the picture at 720p, but this is expected on my Philips LCD TV (according to the Philps manual). There is no noticable overscan either (tested with THX optimizer). The only problem I have encountered is that I can't select 4:3 when using 720p or 1080i, only 16:9. I don't know if this is a Denon issue or a Philips one. Any answers?
     
  9. DPhil

    DPhil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stellavision - thanks, I'll try that tonight to get my version number.

    The DVI issues I have been getting are to do with 480/576p and 720p modes not displaying properly. I get lots of noise around edge of the picture with 480p/576p (2-3 inches or more all around) and 720p is stretched significantly and offset to the right.

    There are some threads about this - search for "denon 1910 dvi".

    I have a Hitachi 42PD5200, which I think further exacerbates the problem as it doesn't seems to handle PAL 720p properly, although I've seen conflicting reports.

    I have been using 1080i though on DVI and that seems to work really well, except that the Hitachi crops it a little which is annoying (but not too much).

    I just want to give it a proper test on all modes, but can't do that at the moment.
     
  10. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +76
    DPhil, change the dvi display mode on the Hitachi from PC to STB and this will fix the noise on 480/576p. Everything else works better on this setting appart from 720p over pal. Watching NTSC there are no alignment problems with 720p, but a picture is unobtainable with pal, ie the Denon welcome screen or a region 2 disk.
     
  11. DPhil

    DPhil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stellavision - thanks for the info.

    My firmware is 1.09 :mad:

    I switched to DVI:STB and it worked as you said - does anyone know how to get 720p PAL to work? Is this just my Hitachi 42PD5200, or the Denon 1910?

    Does firmware 1.10 fix any of this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...