1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I check mobo BIOS version?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Brogan, Jul 7, 2004.

  1. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    OK, another one for you gurus out there...

    I have flashed my BIOS but I'm not sure if it has worked or not... :confused:

    I have tried to see which BIOS version it is on boot up but can't see anything.
    Is there any way of checking which BIOS version is loaded to my mobo?
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Got an answer from Epox on this: "The date of the BIOS will be shown at POST as 4th March 2003"

    What does that mean?
    What is POST?
     
  3. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    OK, found out what POST is but it happens before the monitor displays anything and therefore I can't see what version it is.
    How can I stop boot up after POST or at least pause it/slow it down?
     
  4. StevieDvd

    StevieDvd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +151
    Two suggestions:

    1. Detach keyboard. It should halt because of missing keyboard, I'm not 100% sure it stops in the right place though.

    2. I think Sisoft Sandra has more detail than you would ever need about your PC. It's shareware or freeware in base version. As a lot of bios upgrades can now be done via Windows the bios details should be accessible from a decent util pgm.

    Steve
     
  5. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks Steve.

    Already tried the keyboard idea but that didn't work.
    I'll download that utility and see what's what.
     
  6. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,506
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,046
    Does CTRL, ALT, Pause Break work????

    As a last resort you could try videoing it.
     
  7. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    :rotfl:
    Unfortunately haven't got a video camera...
     
  8. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,506
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,046
    Regressive hypnosis. :laugh:

    Or digicam video mode?
     
  9. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,506
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,046
    Would disconnecting one of the bootable components (HD, Floppy or CD/DVD) slow it down long enough for you to read the info?
     
  10. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +711
    MSinfo32.exe (should be free with MS Windows)
    will report your bios version.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  11. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks for that Chris.
    I remembered after my last post that msinfo provides this information...
    Must try and remember that in future (again). :rolleyes:

    Looks like my BIOS update didn't work after all. :mad: :suicide:
     

Share This Page

Loading...