How do I change the container of a mkv to avi or mp4?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD discs' started by johnslone55, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. johnslone55

    johnslone55
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a movie that I want to put on my ps3, however it has the mkv container, but I notice that it has the right codecs that the ps3 supports (mpeg4-avc), and I need to change it from mkv to either avi or mkv, it really doesent matter which.

    I'm afraid I might have messed up my codecs in my system as I have installed at least 2 different sets, and I need to know what I should just use from now on(I was using k-lite mega codec pack), if your installed codecs even matter when converting video which I imagine they do.

    Before I start getting the "its been answered before, look in the forums" replies, I have already searched on how to do this, and none of the info I have found supports my situation, so please help me.

    EDIT: I figured out that its not avc, but AAC. And the video is avc1.
     
  2. Stoke192

    Stoke192
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wirral..Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,055
    If your after .mkv play back on your PS3 then have a kook in this thread on the PS3 board.

    MKV on your PS3

    Post 220 onwards........MKV2VOB is the app your after.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. mickey101

    mickey101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +21
    Just in addition to the above, i really wouldn't recommend any codec packs on your computer in future. They really are a nightmare.

    A good alternative for allround video playback would be : Media Player Classic, FFDShow and CoreCodec (for excellent mkv/h264 playback).
     
  4. 7hil

    7hil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +145
    Use PS3 Video 9. (I'm sure I've replied to this already) :confused:
     
  5. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +450
    MKV2VOB is the best - no transcoding of material just a rewrap so keeps the H264 video and AC3 audio...
     
  6. johnslone55

    johnslone55
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats what I use ALL the time actually, the only reason I am on this forum right now is because thats not working for me and I need to find something else.
     
  7. johnslone55

    johnslone55
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    MKV2VOB is not working for me right now. It says "Unsupported Audio Codec:A_AAC

    Then, I was just playing around with some of my codec tools, ds muxer, and removed the subtitles, and when I went back to mkv2vob and tried to convert it, it didnt have the first error messgae, but it said "I was unable to automatically figure out the video/audio track numbers! Should I try to guess?", and I clicked yes and it said "Muxing Failed!"
     
  8. ndenbow

    ndenbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +12
    A_AAC is a pain in the ar$e for trans/re-encoding. If anyone has successfully dealt with A_AAC in this way I would definitely like to hear about it. No problems with playback but conversion tools definitely don't like it.
     
  9. 7hil

    7hil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +145
    If PS3 Video 9 was once working but now isnt it sounds like installing all these codecs has cocked up your PC. I would recommend a full recovery so you can start with a clean slate, if it's not too much hassle. Sometimes just installing one program after another to try and fix the probelm can just make things worse. On my PC recovery takes a couple of hours. I bet PS3 Video 9 would work after that.
     
  10. johnslone55

    johnslone55
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It works with another persons movies I download, but I am downloading from someone new, and it doesent convert files from the new guy I download from.
     
  11. 7hil

    7hil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +145
    Stop downloading from the new guy then.
     

Share This Page

Loading...