Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

How do I bi-amp with AV32R and 100x5R?

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by eisenach, Mar 12, 2005.

  1. eisenach

    eisenach
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've just succumbed to HiFiBitZ' offer, and with luck should be getting this combination. At the moment, my system pure stereo, with the B&W speakers bi-amped, and I'd like to use the 100x5R to carry on doing this. Looking up on TAG's website, the AV32R only seems to have one set of outputs, though, and the 100x5R doesn't seem to have the facility to pass the incoming signal on from one amp module to another.
    I've read on this forum that some of you do bi-amp using the 100x5R - how do you go about splitting the signal from the preamp to feed two modules?
     
  2. NeilS

    NeilS
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +8
    You need to use a phono splitter to provide 2 frrds from the single outputs of the av32r.

    Don't forget to remove the bridging pins from the speakers too!

    Neil
     
  3. eisenach

    eisenach
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Can I use a splitter at the amp end and use a flying lead to feed the signal over to an adjacent module - or even better, get a lead made up combining the feed and the flying lead into one phono plug at the amp?
     
  4. derekn

    derekn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +37
    I use a solid splitter - one phono plug to two phono sockets with my subs. No room for it on the AV32 so I fit it to the first sub and then link AV32 to Sub to Sub :smashin: . Checked with REL before I did it - plan to do the same with my L&R Fronts when I get my new amp.

    Regards,

    Derek
     
  5. Inotrope

    Inotrope
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    687
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +44
    Could someone post a pic of this to make it clear for me....

    Also, are you not doubling the impedence of the amp output? Is there any influence on volume (or unlikely but, sound quality?)

    Thanks, mark
     
  6. Inotrope

    Inotrope
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    687
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +44
    Oh, its the fronts I wish to bi-wire, with the 100x5, using the AV32R (obviously!).
     
  7. derekn

    derekn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +37
    Mark,

    I checked with roversd1 who said it would be ok to biamp TAG kit (and he should know), he said that some found it increased headroom - try it and let us know.

    Derek
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice