How do a remove the administrator user account in Windows 10

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by DJT75, Nov 26, 2017.

  1. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,860
    Apologies for posting here but I need some urgent help.

    I bought a PC last week that needs to go back for a refund. On setting it up I registered a new (my only) Microsoft User Account. This is the only account on the PC & is therefore the Administrator User.

    Since this needs to go back, I’ve removed my mail account & uninstalled Spotify, which were the only two things I’d used so far, except for a little browsing by my daughter.

    I now want to remove the User Account since it’s listed with my own personal email account & password. I effectively want to put the machine back to factory settings.

    Seems I can’t remove the Administrator without creating another Administrator, but I have no other email address I can use, without that then being left on this PC.

    The message on the settings says:

    “You cannot delete or remove the admin account which you have currently signed in. To remove the account which you have currently signed in, please create a new admin account (if you have only one admin account), sign in to the new admin account, and then delete the current one”


    I don’t want any accounts on here, I want it back to factory settings so how can I do this?
    Thanks



    IMG_1511723924.882194.jpg
     
  2. Spendy26

    Spendy26
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +363
    Did it not come with a Windows disc? F it did just reinstall windows quick and will wipe your accounts
     
  3. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,860
    No disc & no disc drive, it’s an HP All-in-one.
     
  4. Spendy26

    Spendy26
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +363
    Should still be able to do it, normally there is a partition with recovery files. Maybe Google the model of the all in one and ask how to reinstall windows there will be a guide
     
  5. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,534
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,935
  6. maxwell

    maxwell
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,291
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  7. PsyVision

    PsyVision
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    You can register accounts in windows without them needing to be live accounts linked to an email.

    Call up File/Windows Explorer
    Right click This PC / My Computer
    Click Manage
    Use the Local Users and Groups to add another user
     
  8. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,860
  9. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,860
    All sorted.

    Now I need to order a replacement.
    Would an amateur like me notice any difference between Intel Core i5-7400T & i7-7700T?
     
  10. GarethP

    GarethP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Jacksdale, Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +453
    Have a look here - stick the chip model numbers in and see how they perform against each other. It is at least a starting point

    CPUBoss
     
  11. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,860
    Neither of mine are listed
     
  12. GarethP

    GarethP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Jacksdale, Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +453
  13. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,860
    Going with i5. For the type of usage this thing will get the extra £85 isn’t worth it.

    Thanks all
     

Share This Page

Loading...