1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how can i get sound from tv to amp?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by beem, May 30, 2005.

  1. beem

    beem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    lahndan
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, just wondered if anyone could suggest how i can get signal from the digital tuner in my tv (sharp aquos) to my amp (cambridge audio 640A). There is a digital out on the TV but no digital in on the amp. There are scarts on the tv but none on the amp. Can you get a scart to phono connector? Or should i just connect it to the amp via the headphone out socket on the tv? which is surely the last resort.

    Any help, as ever, is much appreciated,
    B.
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
  3. Member 34135

    Member 34135
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could use a scart adapter and stereo audio cable or you could also use a scart to 3x phono cable and not connect the video phono.

    Most TVs also have a stereo output pair, red and white phonos, in which case just use a stereo audio cable from those to an input on the amp.

    Andy.
     
  4. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    I have an aquos and it is connected to my dsp via the red and white rca and works fine,even giving me dd 5.1 when watching films with dd on sky
     
  5. beem

    beem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    lahndan
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks for the advice. I have a 22 inch tv i think and i don't think this size has the rca outs. I do have rca in though. Did you just connect them to these? I think maybe the one you have is larger and has rca outs on it. Sounds like the scart to phono is the option to go for unless anyone has a better suggestion.
    Thanks again for the advice,
    B
     
  6. beem

    beem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    lahndan
    Ratings:
    +2
    actually, i have just noticed that both scarts are AV ins. Does this mean that I can't use them to get the audio out? Sorry if that is a stupid question but i've got to ask.
    thanks,
    B.
     
  7. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    AV 1 means signal is input/output AV 2 is output only.another option is connecting your video and using this as a sound output and just turn the video on and select the right channel.
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You can't get DD 5.1 with red + white RCA (phono) jacks. You need an optical or co-axial source to get Dolby Digital. You will be getting Dolby Surround or Dolby Pro-Logic from your stereo signal.
     
  9. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    :oops: did i write that, thanks for the correction :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...