How can I get discrete IR codes - tried at RemoteCentral

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Hallsy, Mar 4, 2005.

  1. Hallsy

    Hallsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +14
    I have a Pronto on it's way to me and am thinking ahead.
    I've played with the ProntoEdit Software a little and it doesn't seem too bad.
    Thing I was interested in was say for macros using discrete function like ON or OFF rather than ON/OFF.

    Looked on remote central for discrete codes and they have Yamaha receiver ones which will suit me, but nothing else.
    I am after codes for:
    LG TV (can't remember model right now),
    Matsui DTR1/Goodmans GDB3 Freeview,
    Yamaha RX-V640RDS recevier,
    Playstation 2,
    Bush DVD player (not too worried here as I will be upgrading soon).

    Will I be able to get discrete codes from learning and then looking at the IR code that the pronto has stored?
    Weren't sure how this would work with buttons that toggle functions, i.e. on/off.

    Any help or advice would be much appreciated :)
     
  2. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    A good way to do this would be to make use of OneForAll's database of codes, which is widely to believed to be the most comprehensive in the world. Buy a cheap OFA remote and Obtain the discrete codes for your devices from OFA's Customer Services. Program the discrete codes into your OFA remote and learn these codes onto your Pronto. This method is widely employed in the US and I've even seen a US-based website selling high-end remotes packaged with a cheap OFA remote (www.bluedo.com).
     
  3. Hallsy

    Hallsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks for that.
    What sort of one for all remote would do it, and how cheap?
     
  4. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
  5. MKPatrick

    MKPatrick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +11
    Unfortunately you're making the assumption that they exist for all your kit. It's really pot luck as to whether or not your kit has discrete codes built in to its firmware. Some manufacturers are better than others for this. It's worth contacting the makers of your kit directly and asking them for the hex codes for the particular model you own. don't be surprised if they come back saying they don't exist though.
    Of course the Harmony series remotes get round this issue with the Smart State Technology - but if you've already ordered your Pronto.....

    Patrick
     
  6. Hallsy

    Hallsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yeah, I was aware that not all components will have discrete codes, but thought I'd try.
    As you say, I think I'll try contacting the manufacturers first.
    By the way, whilst I'm on the subject of Pronto's, when using the ProntoEdit software, does anyone know how you can delete the frame that is put in everytime you add a new panel, annoying if you want to use thw hole screen as it looks a bit ****!!
     
  7. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    If you contact OFA, you may find it easier to find out whether your devices accept discrete codes. If you give them an OFA model number, tell them which devices you have and ask for the discrete codes, they'll e-mail you a list of all the codes that are available to program. I did the same and received a four page e-mail of codes for my four devices.
     
  8. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,685
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,353
    Right click on part of the frame , select delete. Thats how I always did it (someone else is bound to tell you an easier way :D ) . You can then copy that "blank" Panel to the other equipment , and never have to remove the frame again .Have fun , I was just getting back into using P.Edit when my eldest busted my Pronto . :mad:
    JS
     
  9. Hallsy

    Hallsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +14
    Cheers John, I thought that would be the case! I'm slowly getting into it, not entriely sur eon how to setup the macros but will have another bash later.
    I've downloaded a load of ccf's from remotecentral and will just nick some buttons and graphics from them.
    Just really quite difficult on decidding on a final layout, especially one that the missus can get along with also!!

    I will try to contact OFA, will they not ask me for a serial number or something, to prove that I have actually bought one?
     
  10. Hallsy

    Hallsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +14
    Well, that's bizarre, I received an email with a reply from GreenBars, however, there is no reply here. Has it been deleted?
     

Share This Page

Loading...