how can i connect RCA (red+white) to speaker wire?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Ransom, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. Ransom

    Ransom
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a TV and just bought some speakers they have a connector of the RCA red and white coming out of it.

    but my TV only seems to accept the bare speaker wire,

    is there any sort of connector that i can get?
     
  2. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Just cut the plugs off, seperate the two wires and hey presto!
    bare wires :smashin:
     
  3. Ransom

    Ransom
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    after much faffing around, its done :) there pretty loud also an they have a amp built into them :)
     
  4. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Nice one.

    Enjoy :thumbsup:
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,513
    Hello Ransom

    I think Badger0-0 forgot to ask for a bit more detail on your Loudspeakers with attached RCA cables!!!

    You really ought to have been connecting the RCA ends of your cables to the 'Line Out' of your TV and let your 'Powered' Loudspeakers Amplify the signal themselves.

    It sounds like your now sending the Loudspeaker (Amplified) signal from the TV to the Line In on the Powered Loudspeakers - as you know it will work but there is a good chance you (or more likely someone else) will overdrive the Input side of the Powered Loudspeakers.

    Joe
     
  6. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Yes, good point Joe, I never thought of that.

    Ransom, just keep the telly volume low and you should be ok :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...