Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

how can i change this please help?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by gunner84, Sep 16, 2005.

1. gunner84

gunner84

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +727
    hi

ive got a 37" pv500 plasma connected to a oppo dvd player,
    on most movies i seem to get black bars at the top and bottom, is there a way of filling the screen as i dont want to get screen burn from the bars.

cheers

2. PJTX100

PJTX100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +564
    Most widescreen DVDs are not true 16:9 hence if you want to watch them in their true aspect ratio then you should watch them with black bars.

I have no hesitation watching most movies with black bars on my PJ. I'm not a plasma expert but I'd be surprised if the majority of "plasma people" didnt watch DVDs with black bars too...PJ :)

3. ijd

ijd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +126
    can black bars burn in, i thought it was only the bright stuff, why oh why did they make tv widescreen 16.9 when the majority of films are 2.35:1 or even a 1:1.85 would be nearer surely :(

4. gunner84

gunner84

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +727
    hi

im not sure if black bars would give burn in but if anyone knows if there is a way of getting rid of them it would be a great help.

ive got a pv500 37" with a oppo dvd player has anyone got this setup and do you know if there is a way of filling the screen .

thanks for any help

tel

5. chris

chris

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    Dont panic......
    You will not get black bar burn.......
    Unless of course you are watching films all day.
    How many films are you watching a day....????