How can I boost wifi network signal?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by janmars, Jul 29, 2005.

  1. janmars

    janmars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Having a little trouble with the signal strength of my wireless network. The signal is great upstairs, but downstairs the signal drops out quite a bit.

    Is there anyway of boosting the signal from the Wireless router. Maybe with some sort of singal extender or relay I can put somewhere?

    Thanks...
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Getting a better aerial than those supplied is probably the easiest and best option.

    My Belkin router also has a "Long range" option so it could be worth trying something like that. In fact I'd be interested if anyone could tell me what this changes - just the output power? :)
     
  3. Acecross

    Acecross
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +74
    Does your router give the option ot use different channels?

    I am sure I had the same problem when I set mine up (some time back so not entirely sure) and I changed the channel from default value of 5 to 11 and it made a world of difference.

    Might be worth a try.

    Tim
     
  4. janmars

    janmars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Tried the different channels and it hasn't made much difference.

    I thought about a different ariel for the router, but a decent one is around £30 (from what I can find). An additional router would be around £35...so maybe it would be worth having another router to act as a bridge / repeater?
     
  5. janmars

    janmars
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Tried the different channels and it hasn't made much difference.

    I thought about a different ariel for the router, but a decent one is around £30 (from what I can find). An additional router would be around £35...so maybe it would be worth having another router to act as a bridge / repeater?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice