House refurb advice

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by toynlet, Apr 1, 2016.

1. toynlet

toynlet

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm Hoping everyone here can provide a bit of advice on home AV cabling / networking and everything that goes with it to a total novice!! I originally posted this in the home cinema building forum but think it will be better suited here (plus i've had the time to look through this forum and figure some stuff out!)

We’ve just bought a 1930’s detached house that is need of full refurbishment and modernisation (full re-wire included). We’re hoping to build a single storey extension for a kitchen diner / family room and generally bring the place into the 21st century!

I’ve never refurbished a property and while I’m thinking about the layout at the moment it seems a good idea to get a sense of the infrastructure of how the house will be connected. Can anyone point out certain things I should bear in mind whilst in the planning stages? I don’t want to get to the decorating stage and wish I’d put in a network point in one walls!

So my basic ideas I have in my head are as follows (please bear in mind I'm a total novice!):

· A node 0 zero location somewhere in the house.
    Where am I able to position this? Pretty sure there is no internet connection at the moment, I'm in a contract with BT and have found them to be quite good so will continue with their infinity fibre package. Am I able to tell BT where to position the main phone point for entry to the house or can I run a connection from any point into my node 0 location from a specific BT point?

Do I need to install a network switch of somekind if I'm running off the standard BT home hub. Obviously there are a maximum number of LAN connections on the back and i'm looking to increase the network usage around the home.