Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

hot news record in RAM and -RW

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by joshua_bond, Jul 10, 2003.

  1. joshua_bond

    joshua_bond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
  2. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    All it needs is a hard disk and it would be perfect!
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,715
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,476
    That looks like a lot of kit for a reasonable price.
     
  4. joshua_bond

    joshua_bond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I reckon so...given that the Tosh has just lauched their RS x30 ..this one seem to have a lot going for it. I dig a bit more for HDD options. Not sure that's required given that RAM offers time slip "out of the box".
     
  5. steve36

    steve36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    965
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    Joshua - do not forget that the TOSH does not have RGB output/throughput.
    If the JVC has I may be selling my new Panasonic E50.
    Steve.
     
  6. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,397
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +149
    And a DVB tuner!

    I still can't figure out why they don't put a DVB tuner as well as an analog one in these DVD recorders.

    When they do, I'll take a look.
     
  7. joshua_bond

    joshua_bond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yes I was a bit shock about the no RGB thing on the TOSH!!! Still is baffling. TOSH's are usually good quality. Don't get me wrong but r they getting a cut for not putting in RGB?

    IMO no DVD recorder worth is it salt if there is no RGB!!! It's like a cocktail bar without fruits or angostura bitters

    I am been looking for info on the JVC...hopefully these short-cuts are not there!
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,584
  9. OARDVD

    OARDVD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deepest Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Is that a fan I see?
    Azzo.
     
  11. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,584
    Does look like it might be one. Doesn't necessarily mean it will sound like a hoover - it won't be the first piece of AV equipment to have one.
     
  12. fozzybear

    fozzybear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If the pictures on the jap site posted by OARDVD are correct then I don't think it will take DVD-RAM in caddies. Looks like a regular tray to me.

    The fan is unlikely to be loud - the one on the E50 is pretty much inaudible to me.
     
  13. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,584
    No - caddy's are 'out of fashion' - which is why Panasonic etc are pushing non-caddied disks. I suppose it's just the look of incompatibility that it generates. Personally I think it's unfortunate as one of the great advantages of DVD-RAM is the protection the caddy offers - it virtually guarentees no data loss.
     
  14. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,149
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +279
    Check out page 9 in the sept release of HCC for a clear picture.
     
  15. joshua_bond

    joshua_bond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I pop to WH Smith yesterday to do some scouting but I obvious miss that one! Did say much much on the product?
     
  16. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,149
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +279
    You didn't miss it, mine arrived on my door mat only yesterday, so it should be in Smiths some time next week.
    It basically gave the specs as shown on the link above, but with an estimated price of £500 instead of the more recently reported price of £450. shoul be about £350 Multi-region via the Net.
     
  17. joshua_bond

    joshua_bond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Ah yes...manage to get a read....let wait for the those new products.

    Mind you it will be nice to see recorders comming out with with two tuners (e.g. for sky) - so we can watch one sky prog will recording another. A bit like Sky+ but with a DVD recorder bolted on:smoke:
     
  18. Skid Solo

    Skid Solo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excuse my ignorane here, but I don't see any SCART's on the back, will RGB connection be via the other sockets on the back of the unit ? and if so is it easy enough to get SCART leads that covert RGB into the type of connection shown here ?
    Just thinking from SAT box to DR-M1 and from DR-M1 to TV
     
  19. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,149
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +279
    The photo shows the Japan version which do not use scarts.
    Euro version should have scarts.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice