1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hooking up Sky + to a PWD6

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Unlight, Jan 4, 2005.

1. Unlight

Unlight

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hey guys,

Im new to all this Sky lark, and am about to order Sky + for to get some hours clocked up on my PWD6.

I believe the Sky + box has component connections, are these best to go for? My VGA port is still unused, would getting a component to VGA cable be a good bet for picture quality?

Any help much appreciated!

2. Eye in the sky

Eye in the sky
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    SKY+ uses RGBs SCART. This means that the Sync signal is sent on the composite pin. If you intend to connect SKY+ to the component/RGB input on your plasma, a direct connection (using a SCART to component cable (three connectors - RGB only) will not work. You will need a box from Keene that takes the SYNC signal (in the SKY+ SCART output) and adds it to the G signal, turning it into RGsB.

If you intend to use RGBHV cables (five connectors), you will need another box from Keene (a check on their website will help).

However, a direct connection from SKY+ SCART to Plasma SCART will work.

Have fun!

3. 406lx

406lx

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
  4. Unlight

Unlight

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Firstly - thanks for the comments guys -

Does anyone know what the picture quality would be like if I used a SCART - S Video lead, and then used my Denon 2805 to upconvert the signal to component?

5. spook

spook
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unlight, from my experience every device in the chain only degrades the PQ and not upconvert as you suggest (by device I mean dvd player etc, not rgb/vga convertors)