Hooking up PS3 on the net through PC

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Hoax, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. Hoax

    Hoax
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Since Im having a lack of connections and space I was thinking to hook up my ps3 on the net through my pc lan .. I was wondering if anyone else is has it this way at the moment and tell me how you like it or not like it ..

    and how you did it and do I need to buy new cables for my ps3?
     
  2. jshippey

    jshippey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +13
    There's a recent thread on this here


    Have a search around for "internet connection sharing" or "ics" - it's a topic that's often asked about.
     
  3. Huddo

    Huddo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +40
    I have this set up, since March 07 and I've never had any problems, plays games online fine and very quick at downloading demo's, patches etc seeing I'm currently on just 2MB Orange speed. Only disadvantage is that you need your PC on if you want to play the PS3 online.

    I'm getting a router shortly so this shouldn't be an issue soon.

    You do need a special cable, it's not just the average ethernet cable, from the top of my head I can't remeber what it's called but I'm sure someone will be along soon to let you know.

    In all I give it a thumbs up, as I said only disadvantage is the PC need to be on.



    HUDDO
     
  4. Darth_terra

    Darth_terra
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +948
    It's a crossover cable :)
     
  5. Huddo

    Huddo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +40
    ]


    There you go, I knew someone would know, that's the cable you need !



    HUDDO
     
  6. Hoax

    Hoax
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    you mean crosslink right? or is crossover something else?
    When i used to network alot with a mate we always used a crosslink between the 2 pc's ..

    anyways.. thanks for the info .. I dont mind if my pc have to be on
    its always on anyways that's why I got a very silent pc :)
     
  7. nichorob

    nichorob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Im just using a bog standard ethernet cable for my PS3 ICS setup.

    I had some teething problems setting up ICS in Windows so UPnP was activated (see my other thread in this forum) to get the sought after NAT type 2 and since then its been perfect. Just as good as being wired direct to the router.
     

Share This Page

Loading...