Homeplugs/Router advice please

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Shuggie_H, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. Shuggie_H

    Shuggie_H
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright folks,

    I'm looking to set up a home network using homeplugs, and have been looking at getting these econnect 200MBps jobs.

    http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/Specifications.asp?ProductID=5056

    At the moment I don't have a router, so I'll need to get one of these as well, can anyone please recommend a semi decent one with wireless (might need it for the future) that doesn't cost the earth. I've got Virgin Media Cable 2Meg broadband.

    I know the 200Meg homeplugs aren't compatible with a lot of the other ones on the market, does anyone think this might be a problem?

    I'm looking for the setup to allow me to stream video, music etc from the pc onto an HDTV in another room through my Xbox360, and also so I can hook up the 360 to Live.

    Any advice anyone can give me on how to set this up would be much appreciated.

    Cheers

    Shuggie

    PS I also have a soft modded xbox with XBMC, would this be better for streaming video than the 360
     
  2. mikim

    mikim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Ratings:
    +183
    I do this exactly as you want, except I use another PC in the lounge instead of an xbox.

    I have Virgin 20meg from modem into a WRT54G Linksys router (inc wireless for the laptop). The ethernet from the router to the PC's/xbox360/and homeplug in the study.

    Then at the other end of the house I have a second homeplug outputting ethernet into the PC in the lounge.
    (If you add a switch at this point then you can have multiple devices in the lounge too).

    :thumbsup:
     
  3. jimborae

    jimborae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berks
    Ratings:
    +109
    Yep another vote for using homeplugs and a Linksys WRT54G/S/L wireless router. But make sure you get an older one as they can run 3rd party firmware (e.g. DD-WRT, Tomatoe or HyperWRT) which greatly enhances your router. The newer versions (version 5 onward iirc) can't run the 3rd party firmware and are a pile of dog poo.

    Keep your eyes peeled as I'll be flogging mine this weekend if you're interested.
     
  4. mikim

    mikim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Ratings:
    +183
    Funnily enough I got my homeplugs & router from jimborae!

    They work rather well too, cheers :thumbsup:
     
  5. Shuggie_H

    Shuggie_H
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. jimborae

    jimborae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berks
    Ratings:
    +109
    No. That is the kind of router we're talking about but if you buy one now it'll be version 5 or above and you dont want that as they can't run 3rd party firmware and the installed firmware is poo.

    Either buy a second hand V4 or below (I'll be flogging one of mine with DD-WRT firmware already installed) or get the L version which can be found here:

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/103185
     
  7. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +586
    Much are you looking for ?
     
  8. jimborae

    jimborae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berks
    Ratings:
    +109
    If you're member on Hexus I have one for sale there and I'll put one up here shortly, probably tonight and I'll be looking for around £30.
     
  9. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +586
    Nah not on Hexus. Will look out for your FS thread and see how it goes.
     
  10. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +586
    Nah not on Hexus. Will look out for your FS thread and see how it goes.

    what does the custom firmware do exactly ?
     
  11. jimborae

    jimborae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berks
    Ratings:
    +109
  12. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    8,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +586
    Not sure wither to buy the Solwise 200mb plugs at around £85 for 2, or the Devolo 200mb at around £140 for 2.

    Why the big difference in price ? :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...