Home Video Network

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by paul_pestille, Jul 23, 2001.

1. paul_pestille

paul_pestille

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been dabbling for a couple of years now with an Electrahome CRT and self-built HCPC (using the now defunct Digital Connections progressive scan board) and having looked at (and discarded) the idea of buying a TiVo (why get clobbered for all that EPG subscription) - and discovered DigiGuide and the other s/w scheduling progs AND just bought a 75Gb disk for $200 it seems sensible to network up all these bits & pieces (including my other project - an MP3 server for the hi-fi). Anyone got there yet? I'd be interested if anyone has any practical experience on bandwidth, connectivity etc. since it seems to cover all those <<DANGER KEEP OUT>> areas I read about in other sections!!

2. Matty N

Matty N

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Paul,

I am currently doing the same thing at the moment and I have discovered what appears to be a little gem of a utility that will stream Mpeg video across a UTP network.

Drop me a mail if you would like it, I'd be interested to know your experience with it. As yet my network is down and I won't get a chance to fix it up until the end of the summer in all likelihood so I'm interested to know how you get on!!

Matt

3. paul_pestille

paul_pestille

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Matt

thanks - will indeed drop you a mail. I haven't trawled the other forums but I assume everyone is aware of Digiguide? Amazing value at £4.99/year for a customisable EPG vs £120/year from TiVo.
    I am looking at using snapstream (www.snapstream.com) as the enabling recorder, since it integrates with Digiguide. (Theoretically, it allows you to setup the PVR acroiss the net - which would be useful when I'm late at work and the wife is out!!).