Home theatre dillema. 5.1.2? 5.2.4? What amp?

Kacper1

Novice Member
Reaction score
I want to build a home theatre system in my new place. It will be my first installation. I have some experience in technology, and I know what my needs are. However, I am not experienced in the audio world, and therefore I need your opinion and help.

1. The place dedicated for the home theatre can be described in a rectangle. This space's cons are: a window on the right, a passage on the left, and an open space above towards the dining area. I am aware of how important acoustics is. I want to hire a company for this purpose that will deal with the soundproof of this area. If you have any suggestions for this part, I am open to any suggestions.

2. After many hours spent on the Internet, I decided to buy a Bowers & Wilkins speakers set. Here's the list:

Front: 2x 703 S2
Middle: 1x HTM71 S2
Rear: 2x 706 S2
Subwoofer: 1x DB4S
Ceiling: 2x CCM664

2.1. Do you think it's a good setup? I think it's worth the price.
2.2. Is it worth buying a second subwoofer?
2.3. Is it worth buying 4 ceiling speakers? Will I feel the difference in such a small space?

3. I have no idea which receiver to choose for this audio set. My requirement must be 4k / 120Hz passthrough support. Below is a list of amps which I researched:

Yamaha CX-A5200
Denon AVC-X6700H
Marantz SR7015

The budget I have is 10k GBP and I don't want to exceed it.

Attachments

• theatre-system.jpg
    theatre-system.jpg
    336.7 KB · Views: 164
If you've been keeping an eye on this thread, you'll see the 4K 120Hz you'll read that a bug has been found which is causing a few issue with certain products which seems to be down to a chipset designed which all AV Receivers look to be using. With luck a firmware fix should resolve this, but as to when this will happen is anyone's guess