• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

home server?

jonnyuk1133

Hey guys, im new to NAS and im just wondering what is the best buy for around £300... im looking at 8TB... stream to ps3, itunes server ... and been able to access it with my ipad? ... also new to windows home server and was wondering can anyone enlight me on the features?

Thanks for any feedback! :)

ukprometheus

Hey guys, im new to NAS and im just wondering what is the best buy for around £300... im looking at 8TB... stream to ps3, itunes server ... and been able to access it with my ipad? ... also new to windows home server and was wondering can anyone enlight me on the features?

Thanks for any feedback! :)

one of the proliant N40L home servers is probably your best bet but the prices of hard disks has increased, start with 1 2tb drive and add more as time goes on

graham.myers

Distinguished Member
8tb without an enclosure will set you back twice that at the moment! As prometheus says start of with 2tb until prices start to drop - but thats going to be mid next year probably and then not to the levels we say in October.

coolamasta

Deffo think a HP N36L or N40L Microserver would be right up your street for this but theres no way you can get anywhere near 8TB storage for that budget, you will be able to get the server and a single 2TB for around £300-400 depending where you buy it from and if HP are still doing the £100 cashback on them...

jonnyuk1133

Yer i quite like the HP N40L... jw how do i find out about the cashback?... also guys was wondering does it come with software or do you have to load a OS... im a NAS newbie!

coolamasta