1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home Projector

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by explicitlyrics, Apr 26, 2003.

1. explicitlyrics

explicitlyrics

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    I am a total newbie to this subject and have only bought two magazines so far but I was wandering if anybody would be kind enough to give me a bit of advice on a home cinema projector for under £1500 inc vat. I had a look at the X1 but there are just so many to choose from. Ideally I would like to link it to my PC aswell but that doesn't appear to be a problem. The room can be made very dark while watching dvd's so brightness shouldnt be a problem but a crisp picture is obviously important :p - it is about 6m from the screen to the place I would like to put the projector - I would like a screen size of about 2meters diag. (Ideally 16:9 but I guess its not that hard to cut off top and bottom. Thanks very much in advance, Chris

2. Gary Lightfoot

Gary Lightfoot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    I like DLP myself, and having seen the X1 would say it's a good choice. LCD is an option, so the Sanyo Z1 is another choice. Idealy you should see them before you buy, because both types have pros and cons which may effect your buying decision.

Decided on a screen at all? A fixed DIY screen with white blackout cloth will get you started so that you know what you want from a screen, then you can upgrade the material or whole thing later if you like. (I have pics on my web site) Pull down screens can be quite cheap though.

The X1 has a long throw, so 6m could be OK with that projector. Some have short throw lenses, so have to go closer to the screen for the same size image.